We currently recommend electricity plans from Frontier Utilities, Constellation, Tomorrow Energy and Public Power

Beware of Inspire

(1 / 5)

  They changed MY electric account without MY permission and without ever speaking with ME or obtaining MY signature or approval. MY electric bills have doubled and even tripled!! I don't care who lives with me, it is my electric account, my responsibility and noone other than me has authority to change anything. I hold INSPIRE totally accountable for fraud!!!!

Kimberly M
July 19th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay away, Shady electric company

(1.2 / 5)

  They tricked me into their plan with door to door sales person and pressure tactic. I initially got lower rates for first 3 months, but later they switched me into their higher rate plan. Customer service sucks. I somehow managed to get rid of them.

bender
July 18th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awful Company

(1 / 5)

  Dont fall for the BS of renewable energy. Just another 3rd party supplier with shady sales tactics. If a salesman happens to approach you, dont fall for any pressured tactics. Their ridiculously high rates are slightly cheaper on their website!!!

Bob
June 14th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Inspire is a complete ripoff!!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  i was told by the salesman that my bill would be 109.99 every month. i was never told that was only their portion of the bill. i was made to believe that would be my entire energy bill, which is my average bill for the year. so i have been paying double until my contract ends. such a scam!!!!!!!! do not sign up!!!!!!!!!!!! i am waiting for a class action suit to join!!!!!!!!!!!!

susan gorgol
June 3rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Would you like to double your electric bill, please?

(1 / 5)

  Girl came to my door and sold me on it. I used to pay $60/mo. Now I pay $150/mo. Best part is that she came back a few months ago asking again to lower my electric bill. She swore she had never been in my neighborhood. Say what? I can't afford to double my bills...neither can you. Buyer beware.

John Pate
May 18th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Total Scam

(1.4 / 5)

  I signed up at a local grocery store with promises of my bill being the same. The bill was the same for the first 6 months and then I saw a DRAMATIC increase. My bill went from $100 monthly to $300 because my "intro offer" had expired. I called Jan 6th to cancel my services with Inspire, and was still billed for the next four months (April 2020) with inspire. I called and got confirmation numbers each time but was told that "they weren't communicating well" with our power company. Interesting. They ended up refunding me the difference that I would've paid using my regular supplier but just awful on their end.

PITTSBURGH POWER
April 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Misleading company

(2 / 5)

  Poor experience with them. Some rep came to my apartment and insisted me sign the tranfer because rates were cheap and its a renewable energy. So i signed it. But for next 2 months i received highest amount bills. Thank God i moved out from there and cancelled my service

Jawaid
March 11th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scammers

(1 / 5)

  I joined because they offered a lower rate but they didn't inform me that they would hike up the rate to double what it should be whenever they please and now I'm stuck with a $300 light bill for a single person.

Evelyn
March 10th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dishonest sales tactics, dishonest rate hikes

(1 / 5)

  I spoke with reps at a reputable grocery store. Went against my usual MO and trusted what they said was true. I agreed to a "usage monitor" to see how their monthly would compare to my current. Wrong. My fault for trusting, but I signed up for a service transfer. 100% misrepresentation.

When I realized this, I called Inspire and was reminded numerous times that I signed the contract. "Did you sign anything?" "Did you sign the iPad?" "You signed your name"... obviously a very common complaint. I finally told the exceedingly bright and cheery woman on the phone that I heard her the first 5 times and she could stop reminding me that I believed her rep's lies.

So, at this point, I was still hoping that shady recruitment notwithstanding, that the entry would be from green sources and wouldn't cost me any more than I was already paying. I had my current rate in hand and she said "you will be charged X from us" which matched my current rate exactly. So I figured what the heck, I really like the idea of renewable energy so I'll give it a shot.

Well, I was correctly charged that rate month one. The next bill came and my rate had been raised 26%. Im willing to pay a little more for renewal energy. But 26% hike is obviously not to cover costs. It's to line pockets.

This is the kind of company who is playing on conservationally conscious people who are trusting that a renewable energy company will be on our side as well as the planet's. It's not. Inspire is out to rip you off under the guise of renewable energy. Shame on them and shame on me for trusting. I went against my usual M.O. that day and learned my lesson.

Tom
February 21st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Potential door to door sales scam

(1 / 5)

  2 young men in black sweater jackets with pink Inspire insignia came to my door on a Saturday. Wanted to see my electric bill or have me give information from it. Started conversation flashing a card stating I should have seen pie charts of something on my bill and stated in a VERY condescending manner that I didn't respond to questionnaire on the bill like I was supposed to. Said they would wait while I got bill, told them I didn't want to do it right then. the pushy one tried more and the other one cut hum off stating thank you goodbye. He realized I was wary of a scam.

J in Elgin IL
November 9th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

avoid at all cost

(1 / 5)

  Very bad customer service. Just got off the phone with an extremely rude supervisor by the name of Anya who came off as antagonistic from the get-go, after I thought I'd successfully resolved the issue with another customer service representative. The dispute had to do with a huge jump in my electric bill, and I wish I had poked around the reviews before I'd signed up with them. It seems to be a very common complaint. I've terminated services, and hope that is the end of it. I commend the cause, i.e. clean energy, but not the delivery. I'll be looking around for other clean energy providers.

Dan
August 14th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing scam

(1.2 / 5)

  I signed up with inspire in late 2017. My rate was comparable to National Grid, slightly higher. One the course of the following 12 months, rates increased by 50% in several steps. Along the way I complained, rates were adjusted down only to go up again later. Net 50% increase over a period of 12 months. I threatened to cancel, they offered me a fixed rate slightly lower as current but knowing that rates usually go down over the summer months that rate would be very high. So I cancelled. They told me it will take one or two billing cycles to execute my shift back to National Grid. I now received the bill for the first of those two "billing cycle". Their rate increase again by about 15%! So they really take advantage of me. I can only warn to get in business with this company. We all want to do the right thing for the environment but that does not mean that we have to accept scams!

Steve
February 17th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions