Reviews for Penelec

The best review categories for Penelec are their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.3 stars, and their billing & account management system, with an average of 1.3 stars.

Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

9 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Stupid
Need wait 6 hours to speak with some one and after they dont call back need wait again 5 hours worse service,terrible,
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Yurii Semeniaka from Erie, PA on August 29th, 2022
Worst Customer Service
I was trying to set up an account for my new apartment in the Erie area. I spent hours trying to get through to speak to an ACTUAL person. The system is horrible and has really turned be away from ever using this company again.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Salli from Edinboro, PA on August 18th, 2022
Less than Zero Rating
Moving from NY to PA. Excruciating process! Wanted copy of lease- had to send it twice. Repeatedly ask the same questions over and over again and in the end the still tried to set the service start day for the wrong day. Hope your CSRs are not paid muchspoke to 3 pretty unless individuals.
Also learn to do math. Opted for a call back to avoid what was communicated as a 6-9 minute wait. Received a call back in 4 minutes and was then on hold for over 6. Yikes! Hope you are better at providing electricity servicesunfortunately I dont have a choice to use you. Reddy Kilowatt would be disgusted with you.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sad To Leave National Grid from Bradford, PA on January 26th, 2022
Penelec automated voice system sucks
Penelec has the most annoying, crappy voice system I have EVER dealt with. That alone, is almost enough to make me want to switch providers.
Their service sucks, too.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Disappointed from Flinton, PA on December 27th, 2021
Better power in the dark ages oh we are in the dark ages
Penelec for 20 yrs has left me without power 5 -10 days every single year because they refuse to maintain my line. I lose food from outages and last year they left me and four kids and pets with no power for 5 days in a snowstorm. If i could give 0 stars i would and i wish them no power at their cozy little homes for literal combined weeks every year the way i have to. But oh if i was late with a payment they would hop to it wouldn't they? We Need to get them shut down and a real power company to make updates.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sick Of It In Western Pa from Leeper, PA on July 7th, 2021
SUCKS!!!!
They leave you without power for Days!!
But god forbid if youre late on a payment..
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Worthless.. .. from Conneautville, PA on November 16th, 2020
If I could pick a different company I would
The customer service process and response is very poor. I have had to make several calls regarding the same issue, been given this information, and I am unfairly being charged a security posit for a business account. If I had the option, I would absolutely choose a different electric service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Peggy Nave from Everett, PA on July 26th, 2019
Terrible
It costs 4.50 to make a payment with a card. And in that payment you can only pay up to 600. It takes them WEEKS to do a bank draft and then you get a letter saying it was rejected and they add 12 more dollars. The cost is insane like most. In an apartment with electric heat in the coldest part of winter I paid 120 a month. In a house that runs on fuel? 150 to 180 a month. During the rest of the year it's 120. Rediculous.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steph from Clearfield, PA on March 15th, 2018
No
To expensive .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shawn from Eldred, PA on May 26th, 2017