Reviews for SmartEnergy

The best review categories for SmartEnergy are their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.1 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 1.0 stars.

Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

15 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Horrible SCAM
I live in an all electric model home, never had a bill for more than $250.00 in 27 years.. Two months with Smart Energy, last month $31536, this month $474.92.. Can I give NO STARS ??
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Horrible SCAM from Uniontown, PA on December 28th, 2023
Pissed off mama
Sending gift cards to minors isnt cool. If you cant get people to switch to your company a legitimate way then maybe you shouldn't be in business. And where did you even get their names?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ppissed Off Mama from Folsom, PA on November 7th, 2023
Company Deception
This company was not truthful from the beginning
Don't fall for the gimmick they are trying to sale.
Your bill will increase by 250 to 600 dollars more in the end.
I plan on alerting all the proper authorities to close this business as well as reimbursement to those taken by this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jeffrey Strickler from Houtzdale, PA on November 7th, 2023
SCAMMERS!
Smart Energy are scammers!! DO NOT FALL FOR THE GC PROMOTION! They sell that they can lower your energy costs but in fact their rate is higher than your current supplier and could not match the rate. It's just an additional charge on your bill!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Monica from Philipsburg, PA on October 13th, 2023
Dishonest company
I would give this company a big fat zero for a review if I could. Not worth your time. They lied on the phone repeatedly. I dropped them and will be helping others drop them as well. Extremely rude and dishonest.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lynn Anderson from 04437 on June 9th, 2023
Double Bill
First month I got screwed my bill came up to 1146 I was billed by both med-ed and smart energy at the same time they told me I had to pay the bill
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Osvaldo from Saylorsburg, PA on January 27th, 2023
SmartEnergy = SCAM
My bill went up over $200! Never got the $100 gift card. Was assured that my bill would go down. Avoid this company and who ever approaches you to switch suppliers! You will regret it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Suckered From PA from Ambridge, PA on October 6th, 2022
FRAUD !
SmartEnergy is a fraud. SmartEnergy over charged me on my electric bill. When I received my bill in August and September it was $499.00 total I was shocked. I called SmartEnergy about this matter.I called 4 different times talk to 4 different agents they kept changing their stories, putting me on hold, cutting me off the 3 female agents had bad attitude they was very unprofessional. Just because I caught them all in their lies. That when I told them I going to file a claim against SmartEnergy with
the PUC, BBB, small claim court and going to the media about this matter. That when they wanted to make a deal with me to lower my current and final electric bill only if I stay with SmartEnergy. The agents refused to tell me how much they was lowing my bill too and they also stated if I don't commit to staying with SmartEnergy while I was on the phone.I had to pay the current amount of $499.00 electric billThe SmartEnergy agents kept repeating that me over and over again about staying with
SmartEnergy. SmartEnergy agents never answered none of my questions. At this point I had enough I just said no I'm not staying with SmartEnergy. Before I ended the call. I let the agents know again I'm filing claims against SmartEnergy. If you are a new customer who want to sign up to SmartEnergy please don't do it. Go to the BBB website there you will see a long list of complaints against SmartEnergy. The so call free $100 gift cards that SmartEnergy give to their new customers you are paying it back with the high charges you get on your electric bill. Yes your electric bill will be low (maybe I don't know) for the first year when the next year come watch out just saying.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

P.G. from Philadelphia, PA on September 26th, 2022
Scam company
This company is a scam makes your bill 5x higher then normal even though they put you in on fixed rates and a $100 gift card. I never even got my card. Asked them to remove me from their service when I called and told them about not getting my card. They told me they are sending a new one and will cancel the service. I still never got the card. Come to find out they never removed the service. I had to take them off and my bill by calling PECO monthly later and my bill gone down greatly. Wish I never started up with them. Owe a lot that I cant pay because they continued my service after I told them to take me off. They take money from people that need it most
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kb from Norristown, PA on August 14th, 2022
Yeah that was a mistake
Received a what I assumed was a gift card for the electric provider I had switched to a month before. Called to activate and made the mistake of switching because I honestly didnt understand a word the lady was saying because she must have just learned English to work there. Anyway bill went from .08 kWh to .1945972, seriously brought the bill up another $100. I feel so dumb, anyway called to try and cancel it and it took around 45 minutes and had to call multiple times.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nicole from Carlisle, PA on July 11th, 2022