Reviews for AEP Energy

The best review categories for AEP Energy are their billing & account management system, with an average of 3.0 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 2.8 stars.


Review from Redkimber317

Good experience
I have not had any problems with this company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Redkimber317 from Nescopeck, PA on January 24th, 2021


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Good experience
I have not had any problems with this company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Redkimber317 from Nescopeck, PA on January 24th, 2021



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Easy renewal process
If you like the ability to check your account online, contract start and end date, contract rate, usage history, compare your usage to past history. Renew with comparisons to other contracts and provide decent rates. Not sure what you would not like ? If you like 24/7 online access and if you really want to talk to someone a customer service line. Good company for decent rates and account access.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ray from Philadelphia, PA on December 5th, 2019



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Into re-upsane time
I will NEVER put myself thru this ridiculous procedure to CONTINUE with AEP. 30 minutes on the phone, repeating the same questions again 3 times, drove me to insanity.

Directions on the letter did not comply with system. NEVER AGAIN1
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Suzanne McClure from North Versailles, PA on November 8th, 2017



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

4 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
AEP Energy Rewards Forfeiture
I was an AEP Energy customer for several years, earned considerable "rewards" dollars and recently cancelled my contract due to increased rates. Immediately they locked my rewards account and would not allow me to purchase anything from the rewards store. I find this tactic to be akin to punishment for cancelling my contract. My rewards dollars were forfeited and I find this unilateral action very disturbing. I would not recommend AEP Energy to anyone.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Barry R. Bailets from Manchester, PA on November 24th, 2021
Sold me a defective thermostat, tripled my bills
I used my rewards dollars to purchase a Sensi smart thermostat they were marketing through one of their promotions, it was supposed to be "green" and save me a ton of money. Before I installed it I made sure to photograph the wiring of the existing thermostat to ensure I had everything done correctly. This was our first winter in a new house that had a heat pump, which can result in higher than expected heat bills so I was not surprised when my bills in early winter were a little higher than expected. When I received a bill for $576.32 for December's usage we made changes to our lifestyle in order to prevent a bill like that in the future including using our fireplace every single night to provide an additional heat source. This resulted in a bill of $817.56. I called my HVAC professional for a service call and he told me that the thermostat was installed correctly, my heating system was functioning properly, and that my 1 year old heater was a phase-inverter, a top of the line system that should not result in bills like that. The problem was that the Sensi thermostat was not triggering the regular heat, but only using the emergency backup heat component of the heat pump, which is considerably less efficient and more expensive. The thermostat did not indicate it was using emergency heat the entire time, nor did the ap that I was using to check on the heater's usage. So he removed the Sensi thermostat that they sold me and the next month the bill had gone down to $569.07. Average daily usage went down from 208 to 168.6 despite it being an average of 6 degrees cooler. I find it more than a bit odd that the thermostat marketed and sold to me by my electric company resulted in my bill being considerably higher than it should have been for months. I contacted them multiple times and every time I was told to contact a different department. Beware of this company, if there is any issue they will not make any attempt to resolve it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

K Abrahams from Downingtown, PA on October 19th, 2021
Bait and switch
I signed up electronically with AEP Energy. At the end, it gave me an "ELECRIC GENERATION CONTRACT SUMMARY" which was 6 pages that I printed. It noted my Supply price of $4.79. I assumed that all was good at that rate. Got my bill a day or so later and it was still the old price -- I knew that's prob valid because the requested change just took place. The next months' bill went up substantially from the level that I agreed to AND was still with the old supplier. I called and magically AEP has no record of my contract with them. This contract summary is all that I received. and now they want to set me up for a rate that is even higher than the company I was leaving. How can they give me a contract and then not honor it because they cannot see it on their end?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

TracyH from Bridgeville, PA on June 9th, 2020
Power supply drains
My husband and I began to worry we had an electrical problem throughout our home. Then I recalled when the dimming started. It was when I switched to aep.
Once I switched away from them, it stopped. They can not supply enough power to my home. I wouldnt recommend them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Debbi from Clymer, PA on November 20th, 2018