Reviews for American Power & Gas

Updated May 22, 2024

The best review categories for American Power & Gas are their customer service, with an average of 3.4 stars, and their plans and pricing, with an average of 3.2 stars.

American Power & Gas logo
PA Energy Ratings's Bronze Tier providers are solid retail electricity providers that have a lot to offer customers. These companies represent good options for discerning shoppers and have lots to offer customers. There are plenty of good companies offering good plans that can fit what consumers are looking for in their company.


Recent Good Review from Jaime

Assisted with rebate
John N. was very helpful in assisting with my rebate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jaime from Irwin, PA on November 13th, 2023


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

24 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Very helpful
Charles did an excellent job making the entire process easy and followed up as promised!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tim from Elizabethtown, PA on June 14th, 2023
Charles in customer service
I'm not a young person and I must say without a doubt Charles provided the absolute best customer service I ever had. His knowledge was great. He deserves 5 stars. He represents your company above and beyond
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Great Customer Service from Middletown, PA on May 18th, 2023
Great service from John N.
Called John Neesham to verify that rate is 7.49c/kWhr effective 4/28/23 until 7/28/23 and to tell him I received the check from AP&G. This is exactly what he had told me. Very helpful and congenial to talk to anytime!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Larrythebird#33 from on May 11th, 2023
Charles was incredibly helpful!!! Love that guy
Charles was incredibly helpful!!! Love that guy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bcooper from Henryville, PA on May 5th, 2023
Great Review for Mr John Neesham
John worked with me in every area of my concern in an expeditious, courteous and polite manner and totally solved and in some cases went above and beyond what a regular rep would have done. He is undoubtedly the best rep I have ever had the privilege to work with.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Larrythebird#33 from on May 5th, 2023
Great service
Called John Neesham and he provided excellent service and professionalism.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Larrythebird from Berwick, PA on April 13th, 2023
American Power & Gas works with me & helps keep my Penelec bill lower.
Called and spoke to Jennifer A. about getting my rates lowered. She couldn't at this time, because I was already at the lowest rate, but explained when the best date to call back & she would check then. Very informative & personable.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ann from Morris Run, PA on November 18th, 2022
Review: Mr. John Neesham
To whom it may concern:
Wish to send review of Mr. John Neesham and his total attention to our needs concerning pricing and time line to complete electric supplier contracts.
His patientance and professionalism in dealing with our needs should be acknowledged and wish for his manager to receive this review.
We are grateful to have a Representative such as Mr. Neeshamto to work with.
Our time with this matter was handled professionally and expeditiously.

Thank you
Carl and Rose Vega
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Carl from Bethlehem, PA on November 18th, 2022
Monica d
Very helpful and friendly would ask for everytime
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bob from Vandergrift, PA on November 8th, 2022
Happy Customer
I am a very satisfied customer with A.P.&G because of Carol and Robyn. They continually give me good service, they go out of their way to make sure I am a happy customer and we have friendly conversations. There are times A.P.&G. rates are a little higher than my electric company, but because I want to help out with the environment by using wind power and because of Carol and Robyn I continue with A.P.&G.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rosemary E. Meyers from Warminster, PA on November 4th, 2022
Great cust svc
Jennifer was very helpful and concerned and listen to me. Great customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Linda Kirst from Whitehall, PA on November 2nd, 2022
My Electric Choice .... American Power & Gas
I was happy to have American Power & Gas for 3 months as my Electric Supplier, the price was great compared to other Electric Companies and their Customer Service is also very good to deal with. I hope to stay with them as my electric supplier if their rates stay competitive!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

D. Lehman from Williamsport, PA on October 16th, 2022
Rate info
John was very informative and helpful. Well Done. TY
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John from Bloomsburg, PA on September 30th, 2022
Customer Service
Just recently signed up withAmerican Power and was pleased with my service. Their representative, John Neesham, was very professional, knowledgeable, and friendly as well. He answered all my questions efficiently and was very helpful.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John N from Quakertown, PA on September 14th, 2022
Provider Review
Signed up with American Power & Gas for electric. Had to call to discuss continuing. Robyn in Customer Service was great and updating my electric provider information was easy. Very good to work with.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sue from Millville, PA on September 12th, 2022
Nice Customer Service Representative
I telephoned American Power and gas of PA today regarding my account and spoke with a representative by the name of John Neesham. Although he was unable to help me acquire a new billing contract on our call, he explained how "variable rate" billing works... It was good to know.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Perri from Hatfield, PA on August 3rd, 2022
Outstanding Customer Service
John & Carol were outstanding in support of my matter.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

W Harrell from Effort, PA on June 21st, 2022
ROBYN GREGORY
EXCELLENT CUSTOMER REP.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

ROBYN GREGORY from Johnstown, PA on June 3rd, 2022
Good customer service
We called because bill was very high she got us a rebate and informed us on how to get a better rate was very helpful!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Denise Bell from Williamsport, PA on February 11th, 2022
Totally Unexpected
Had an unusually high gas and electric bill from American Power & Gas and called customer service. Never expected my call to be answered so promptly by such a skilled and professional representative. Amy Duke was personal, knowledgeable with rates, both current and past. She spent time with me and corrected my problem, more than I ever expected. Amy was easy to speak with and understood everything I was calling about. She confirmed our conversation so we were on the same page and sent me a confirmation email. I hope to continue with her on my next call at American Power & Gas. It is very rare that people enjoy and are proud of their jobs these days and it is clear Amy does. Thank you for great service and a resolution that works for us both!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Satisfaction! from Morrisville, PA on November 9th, 2021
Amazing experience
Everything was pretty much straightforward, the lady on the phone was super helpful and very patient.
I appreciate companies that care about their customers, so, American Power & Gas, thank you!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gina from Indiana, PA on November 6th, 2021
Amazing
The sign-up was super simple process. Just few details and account was setup. Customer care was courteous and took time to answer all my questions.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sophia from 32008 on June 17th, 2021
Customer Service
When I call in and speak to Robyn Gregory she is very helpful and knowledgeable about the rates I receive on my bill and any customer service I may need.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sparisi from Ambridge, PA on May 25th, 2021
Love the people!
I have really enjoyed my experience with this company. Love that it's 100% green electric and all the charity work they do.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anna from Ambridge, PA on June 4th, 2020



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

9 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Assisted with rebate
John N. was very helpful in assisting with my rebate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jaime from Irwin, PA on November 13th, 2023
Excellent Customer Service
I was quite upset a few days ago when I received my natural gas monthly invoice and the AP&G rate was about twice what the utility company's rate would have been. It was the second month in a row of this drastic increase, and the heating season had just begun.
I vented my steam to the customer service representative who answered my call. I explained that I had called last month and noted this jump in my rate, far more than UGI's rate. Mr. John Neesham, my contact, immediately emphasized with my situation and talked me down with some research into what had happened last month. He noted that a change in my rate had been ordered, but postulated that the change had not taken effect because this past month's billing cycle had already begun. He gave me a personal guarantee that if the new, "lower-than-UGI's-rate" did not show up in next month's invoice AP&G would make it right with me even if I elected to exercise my right to cancel at that time.
John is a gentleman with a calm demeanor, and is well suited for his customer service position. As a former hospital administrator I know these qualities work best in dealing with the public, and AP&G is fortunate to have Mr. Neesham representing them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gary M. from Wellsboro, PA on October 13th, 2023
Terrific customer service!
We had some confusion with our account and ended the relationship with APG. Even though we were no longer customers, John N. took the time to look up historical information to help us understand the issue. Best Customer Service I've experienced in a long time!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ann Bortz from Mohnton, PA on October 12th, 2023
Excellent customer service
John Neesham provided excellent customer support. He listened to my needs and concerns when I renewed with APG, then clearly explained my options. When I was mailed the wrong contract from APG, he called the next business day to personally respond to my email. He confirmed that my rate and term were as he had offered, though someone had mailed the wrong contract. We need more workers like John.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

G W Fisher from Millville, PA on April 5th, 2023
Stacey's customer care was super!
American power and gas customer care representative Stacey was so knowledgeable and helpful with my questions . she saved me so much money on my electric bill. It was a pleasure dealing with her .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David from Lake Ariel, PA on November 14th, 2022
Electric supplier
John N. Was extremely helpful and a very nice to speak with.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Goggle from Philadelphia, PA on October 12th, 2022
Review of American power and gas
Great rate for electricity hope to get the same rate to continue with them
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Fred from Camp Hill, PA on October 2nd, 2022
Billing and account management
My monthly bill is always on time.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Beryl McMillan from on September 9th, 2021
Way More then just a variable rate, great service!
My sales call was a bit fast and I did have multiple calls, but I am not sure what people are complaining about.. I have had several companies with variable rates, and they are all the same, the rate you were offered the first month and then the rate goes up to a retail rate. I called the customer service, who answered my call immediately, transferred me to a specialist who offered several different products and gave me a direct number to call in the future, if I ever needed any help, they were honest and treated me very respectfully. Other companies have outright lied to me. I love that my energy is clean, I get a small annual rebate, and anytime I find my rates are not competative, I call and it is immediately resolved. No large cancellation fees and I really like my direct agent. I will not be leaving this company anytime soon. Maybe some of these reviews are completed by aggressive sales people, who in fact emailed me this link in hopes to get me to leave American Power and Gas, but instead I felt compelled to write this comment.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sally from Lyon Station, PA on June 4th, 2020



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
K H @ .999
New customer in feb. rate is supposed to be .999 kh. Why is april bill .1239 kh.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dominic Vadala from Hermitage, PA on March 31st, 2023
John N
Customer Service Individual was knowledgeable, polite and especially was very helpful. His assistance provided more understanding of my account
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Elaine from Bloomsburg, PA on September 23rd, 2022



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Questionable
Charged $333 the first month. Do not know why. Can not get any one on the phone. No call back after they said they would. Not gong to reccomend them, until they explain.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

BrandNew from Pittsburgh, PA on February 14th, 2024



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

28 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Absolutely horrible
This company is absolutely horrible. After an introductory rate they where charging more than double per KW from providers.
They also changed my account without my knowledge or consent but with the consent if some else who lived in my household and whose name was not on the bill! I will be contacting the better business bourogh immediately.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

April from Wilkes Barre, PA on April 26th, 2024
Bait and switch.
Entice you with a good 3 month deal then rope you into a 1 year contract higher than the base rate. I pay double what I did without them. Predatory scum.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unhappy Customer from Saylorsburg, PA on March 19th, 2024
Good monthly rates, trashy sales tactics
Close to the end of my term I had a sales agent reach out who was quite rude. She was very pushy trying to get me to signup for a yearlong averaged contract. She would only give me the monthly premium and would not give me a per kwh price and even started to low key insult me asking if my problem was if I just couldn't afford things.. nice.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Notsuperhappy from Lancaster, PA on March 4th, 2024
Bizarre Experience The "2-year fixed, month to month" deal from AEP!
On January 27, 2023, I received an unsolicited marketing call from American Power & Gas (AEP) offering me an electric rate of 9.194 cents per kw. in answer to my question, I was told that the rate was fixed for 2 years. For my records, I documented the date, the rate and the fact it was 2 -year fixed. on the electric bill. I though it was a good deal and I told the customer service rep to sign me up. and documented the details of the agreement on the January Peco bill. On January 10, 2024, my wife was reviewing the utility expenses for the year to find out rhat AEP has raised the price from 9.17 cents in January to 23.271 cents per KW in December and the additional charges over the year were $782.35!!! I thought it was a mistake, so I called customer service and after explaining the situation, the AEP customer Service Rep said: "Yes. the rate is 2-year fixed, month to month". My immediate response was: "What does that mean???? !!!!!"
I was promised to receive a payment of $100 and the issue was elevated to the manager I did not receive the $100 and I called 3 times since 1/10 and as yet no response!!!
I am totally disappointed with AEP unethical marketing and I do not know how they are still in business. Was it a zealous rep who wanted to make their quota or a mistake? Anyway, I will not deal with AEP anymore and next time I will ask the customer rep calling to send me an agreement in writing before signing up. Once bitten, twice shy!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kamal A. Hazboun from Berwyn, PA on January 19th, 2024
Incredible rip-offs!!!
I was told that their price would be competitive when I switched to them from ppl. Within a couple of months they were charging me almost double ppls price!!! Dont understand why they are even in business. A complete ripoff!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tony from Ashland, PA on December 21st, 2023
American Power and Gas SCAM
American Power and Gas is a PREDATORY company that SCAMS their customers. They will TRIPLE your rate with NO NOTICE. Report this company to the Better Business Bureau. Its very similar to the subprime mortgage crisis. They are CORRUPT and UNETHICAL. Email them and demand that they notify their customers of rate increases (they would go out of business if they had to do this). Ask to speak to Lynn Cloutier customercare (at) aapandg (dot) com & customerservice (at) aapandg (dot) com
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

T Archer from Lafayette Hill, PA on December 12th, 2023
Run!
If I can rate them lower then 1 star, I would. Josh in sales X1657 called 2 different days and talked to 2 of the ladies that had the displeasure of talking with this low-life. Being the owner of this company, I will not do business with anyone that is this disrespectful. I did call him back and told him that he has the ability to call the 2 ladies back and apologize for being an ass. He hung up on me. Absolutely will NEVER talk good about this company until he has the balls to apologize for his childish behavior.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gary from Strasburg, PA on October 17th, 2023
Unauthorized supplier switch
I was switched to this supplier without my knowledge or approval. I am waiting on someone to contact me on this matter and I require a refund. I did not provide my account number o this because im afraid you will switch my service again.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amber Jetson from North Versailles, PA on September 29th, 2023
Scammers
Got a letter in the mail from PECO confirming my transfer to this company as my business's electric provider. Only hitch is - I never even spoke with anyone from the company, let alone gave permission for them to switch me. I never even listen to sales pitches about switching. So I had to waste my morning calling PECO to switch me back and then calling All American Power & Gas to make sure they weren't going to charge me a cancellation fee for the service I never agreed to. When I asked the woman at AAPG customer service if she could tell me who allegedly gave them permission to switch my provider (I run a small business, I'm the only employee) she said she didn't have access to that information, "due to privacy concerns." Complete scam.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kaisers Storage from Glenolden, PA on August 18th, 2023
SCAM
As another reviewed has noted, I received a letter from PECO confirming my supplier switch to this company. Only hitch is - I never authorized a switch at all. And, of course, the letter came the same day the switch went into effect. PECO switched me back to my previous supplier when I called them, but now I'm trying to contact All American Power and Gas to make sure they don't try to scam a cancellation fee from me and their phone lines are cutting in and out every time I call. Complete scam.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

George from Glenolden, PA on August 16th, 2023
This company signed my business up without m permission.
I got a letter from Peco saying I switched to All American Power and Gas. I most certainly did not. Not only did they charge me a higher rate but the lady was rude in answering my questions on how this happened. Her answer was must have been a clerical error in the system. I highly doubt that given the reviewer above me also had the same thing happen to their business account. These companies are incredibly shady and after my previous experience with doing this vowed I would never do it again. When asked who I can report this to she told me she didn't know who regulates them and when I try to log a formal complaint on the PApowerswitch site none of the options for logging a complaint fit. I guess this why they can continue to get away with this stuff.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ron from Harleysville, PA on July 31st, 2023
Scam
I had never heard of this company until I received my letter from Peco stating I had switched to them as my new supplier. Called Peco had it changed back then called All American Power. They said it was a clerical error...They seem to have a lot of clerical errors.....Open those letters from Peco you never know what's inside.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Powerscaminpa from Levittown, PA on July 24th, 2023
Scam
Got suckered into the 0.0999/kwh pricing only for the second month to be 0.1239, third month is 0.17084, and fourth month was 0.197632. Nearly double the electric rate in just a few months. While the "General supplier" option was still offering 0.0999 from their end. Do not fall for any of their sign up offers, or you will also end up losing hundreds of dollars to this company as I did.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steve from Birdsboro, PA on July 22nd, 2023
The 25% rebate is misleading
APG will only give you a rebate of 25% on just the average monthly cost. Not 25% on the total you've paid over 12 months. I wanted my time sticking around with them for 12 months to find this out.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anand from Mechanicsburg, PA on July 6th, 2023
Fraudulent electric supplier switch
Received a letter from this company saying I switched my business from PECO to them on April 20, 2023 . Absolutely not true. When i called them they said it was a clerical error ! A clerical error ????!!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jane DZIERZA from Philadelphia, PA on April 25th, 2023
Scam
This company advertised rates lower than my current rate, so I switched. I cried over the first bill because the rate was astronomically high. Ive never cried over a utility bill before. My budget rate for gas almost doubled.

The government website listing of their prices were still lower, so the website is not accurate at all.

When I called to cancel, the lady repeatedly tried to get me to call back at the end of the month to cancel. She said she could give me a discount on the remainder of the month yet it was still higher than my normal providers rate. This was after it took me two days to reach the cancellation department.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unhappy Customer from Sewickley, PA on April 16th, 2023
Legit Crooks
Signed up for a 3 month fixed rate at 11c/kwh (PP&L was 14 at the time). 3 months ran out and I switched to another provider that was 12c assuming the price would jump. Within an hour of switching I had a representative from American Power & Gas reach out and ask why I was changing. They assured me that if the rate was going to go up at all, I would be notified. Pushed even harder with the 1 year bonus program yada yada, so I canceled the order to switch companies. 1 month later... My charge jumps to 16c/kwh with no notification at all. I just happened to notice it on my bill. I'm not even sure how this behavior is allowed. Fuck this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Levi from Northumberland, PA on February 27th, 2023
Beware
Very expensive after initial rate . Stay fixed
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Beware from Exton, PA on December 5th, 2022
HORRIBLE CAN NOT CONTACT ALL #'S HAVE BEEN DISCOUNTINUED
Rates hiked up and i have no ability to contact phone #'s on my bill and internet lookup are all discontinued
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Small Business from Southampton, PA on August 17th, 2022
The worst
Did not give me the rate they said , lied to me several times. look else where unless you want to pay triple.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ben from Spring Grove, PA on August 8th, 2022
OMFG THESE PEOPLE DONT STOP CALLING
After they called I read all the 1-2 star reviews 47%. When they called back I told them I wasnt interested based on the reviews, told them not to call back and hung up. They immediately called back. I told them they are now harassing me and Id report them to the Atty General. We will see if that stops the phone calls.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ron S from Fleetwood, PA on July 15th, 2022
Harder to get rid of than Covid
I have multiple accounts and they talked my wife into signing up, no cancellation fee, no sign up fee just great savings. Yeah, for the first month, then their rates go way up. Call them to cancel (If you can get through) and they give you a lower rate for a month, then right back up. I cancelled 2 months ago on one of my accounts, and they promised it would have to go through on billing cycle to get cancelled. Here I am on the second cycle and still being charged their rate. I tried calling for days, and they said leave a message and they would call back. Never called back. Last time I called their mailbox was full and I couldn't leave a message. Finally, yesterday, my wife called PPL told them the story and they said it would take 3 days to cancel. I called today and wonder of wonders, I got someone. They told me they could lower my rate, and I said NO. I want out. Again, "It will take a cycle for it to be cancelled" If not cancelled the BBB will be hearing from me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dave Hirst from Christiana, PA on February 9th, 2022
This is Criminal
What this company is doing is criminal. Rising the price out of nowhere to from 7c to 12c with out notice or concern for their costumers, This should not be allowed. my bill when from 150 to 500 overnight. All they are doing is tricking people into their contracts hopping they forget and once they do they slap you with a terrible price. I thought I could trust this company. Same on me. currently I owe $56 dollars for six day of service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Erick from Allentown, PA on August 2nd, 2021
RIP off !!!
They called me. I said no. They switched me anyway. Charged me twice the rate as ppl, and now i can't get anyone to answer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ray from Elizabethville, PA on June 29th, 2020
Won't take no for an answer please complain to PUC
They keep calling every week or two. we go through the same thing about i have no interest in this company and am not going to switch to them and ask them to take me off the calling list. which after you get angry they agree to not call anymore. a week or two later another idiot from this company calls again. and the circus starts all over again. its plain harassment. so everyone who reads these reviews please make a complaint to the PUC so we can get these people to stop calling us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Complaint To PUC from Denver, PA on April 24th, 2020
Don't beleiv them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The first month is under what you would pay another company or what you are paying now. Next month it jumps up double.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Laird Morgan from Hershey, PA on November 13th, 2019
Immediate rate increases after first month
I can't recommend strongly enough against this company. Their pitch is a 25% annual rebate on your average monthly bill - that's really a 2% annual rebate, about the same as the reward points on a credit card. They also say it is a variable rate and you can cancel anytime without penalty. Both of those are true. The catch is that the initial rate they quote is slightly below the rate to compare. Then the next month they immediately jack up the rate to close to double and in some cases more than double the rate to compare. On the last bill at two of our facilities, the price to compare was $0.067/KWH; the rate AP&G charged was $0.150722/KWH - 2.26 times the rate to compare. We have over a dozen facilities that we switched to AP&G, which are serviced by several different electric distribution companies, and this happened to all of them. The problem is that you can't change back to your previous generation supplier fast enough. By the time you look at the bill and realize what they did to the rate, you owe that rate for those 30 days and you likely do not have enough time to switch suppliers before the next meter reading, so you will owe their rates for the current 30 days. And since some (but not all) electric companies only switch suppliers on meter reading days so they don't have to do a special reading mid-month, you will likely owe AP&G's exorbitant rates for 30 more days. That was our experience. I have no doubt that AP&G's strategy is to make as much as they can in a 90 day period and hope that people aren't paying close attention and they can continue to get away with it for longer. In the era of deregulation - LET THE BUYER BEWARE!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JS - Facility Manager from Exton, PA on January 10th, 2019
Avoid - they will increase the price after one month
I switched to American Power & Gas because because they had a low variable rate and no cancellation fee. When I signed up I asked if the rate would stay around the current level and was told that it would - that the rate I got was not a teaser rate. However, I only got the low rate for one month. The second month the rate was increased by 70% and the third month was almost double the first month. I switched from AP & G after receiving my second month bill, but I had to pay for part of the third month while the switch was being processed.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John from Pittsburgh, PA on October 21st, 2018