Reviews for APG&E

The best review categories for APG&E are the order experience, with an average of 1.6 stars, and their billing & account management system, with an average of 1.4 stars.

Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

14 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Bait and Switch Experts
APGandE got me to use them by offering a low introductory rate, but as soon as the introductory term expired they increased my cost of electricity by almost 2 and a half times. My bill went from 6.8 cents per KWH to 15.9 cents per KWH. They didn't even have the decency to give me any advance notice of the impending rate hike.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Igot RippedOff from Mount Joy, PA on October 26th, 2021
APG&E Scam
As a majority of other reviewers state, APG&E triples or more than triples your rate after the introductory rate ends. I expected maybe 2-3 cents higher than standard rate, not over double the standard rate. They are clearly putting money in their pocket and taking advantage of customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stay Away From APG&E from Wilkes Barre, PA on October 7th, 2021
Avoid. If the promotion falls you will go into a unreasonable rate
15.9 cents a kw after promotion fell. Ridiculous 3 times the rate of some suppliers. Predatory
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Predatory from Lancaster, PA on October 1st, 2021
Make sure you end exactly at the end of the introductory rate. Rates will double!!!
I ended about 15 days after my introductory rate, not even a full month and thank god I did that because they went from .056 rate to a .159 rate. Completely Absurd. Maybe people would actually stick with this company and they'd make money if they charged a going rate. I'll gladly change my review if you pay me back.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Worst Company from Greensburg, PA on September 30th, 2021
Do not fall for their rates!
I signed up and apparently although my contract ended 15 months ago, they continued as my service provider because the fine print states I had to call and cancel despite my contract ending. This allowed them to bill me their increased rate for over a year until I noticed my electric bill go up after my set monthly payment expired. Their rate was more than double everyone else and refused to refund or rectify the situation! Avoid them at all costs....
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sam from Conestoga, PA on September 22nd, 2021
Don't fall for their introductory rate,
I switched to APG&E and got a decent rate. once that rate was guaranteed it doubled and all of the savings I got were wiped out once the rate doubled. Dont fall for the introductory rate, unless you watch it monthly.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jeff from Pittsburgh, PA on August 6th, 2021
Huge increase
Rate was triple after promotional period. And took the max amount of time to get billing switched. Stay away from this supplier.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Dillsburg, PA on July 27th, 2021
Unethical price practices
I signed up with APG&E as my electric supplier, choosing a 3-month term with a fixed rate. I figured the price would increase when the 3 months were up, but I procrastinated on going back to shop for a new contract. I was shocked to find that they jacked up the rate to 3 times the PECO price! There is no reason for that large of an increase other than they are taking advantage of people.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eric from Green Lane, PA on June 14th, 2021
Customer Service lied about terms of contract
My first contract with APG&E was fine, I got a really low rate and had no problems, but when my term was up I called customer service and asked what new contracts were available to renew my service with them. The agent told me a price that was ok (not good), but promised a $25 credit after my 1st month. I asked if there was a cancellation fee if I wanted to end my contract and he said NO. I signed up and when they sent me the contract in the mail 3 weeks later, there was a $150 cancellation fee! I had 3 days to cancel without a penalty (using the early termination required by law). When I called customer service and asked to cancel my contract THEY HUNG UP ON ME! I called back, and once again as soon as I said that I wanted to cancel, the agent hung up again! I was able to eventually cancel my contract after faxing and mailing my request. Stay far away from this company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tina G. from Nanty Glo, PA on September 12th, 2020
They will triple your rate!
Keep a sharp eye on your contract end date, they triple your rate as soon as your contract ends. Any other provider I have used raises the rates at the end but by a few cents not 300%. Avoid this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Matt from Manchester, PA on December 27th, 2019