Reviews for Met-Ed

The best review categories for Met-Ed are their billing & account management system, with an average of 1.4 stars, and their customer service, with an average of 1.3 stars.


Recent Good Review from David Bradley

Preventative Tree Maintenance
So I have made a number of calls about dead tree limbs over our driveway. Med Ed sent out a "tree crew" who slept for at least half the the three days on our driveway and did not address the issues we had. They we never fixed.
Tonight we had a major tree fall on our power (which I warned would happen)...trapping both my ICU Nurse Daughter home as well as my wife who is a 3rd grade teacher.
When I called to report the outage...I was told..."no worries' all set by 9:00 PM.....it is now 9:00 PM and you guys are 'no show' as multiply times before.
Am happy to copy PUC and others...this will be the third times for issues with little or no response.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David Bradley from Perkiomenville, PA on November 1st, 2020


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Met Ed is still best bargain.
The devil you know is better than the devil you haven't met. I am very pleased with the rate Met Ed charges and when I compare it to the other plans available it is still one of the lowest one out there. The others give you a rate that draws you in but after the trial period it will likely go up! I have never changed and it is unlikely that I will change as long as Met Ed remains competitive.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jimegolfer from Hanover, PA on January 17th, 2018



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Preventative Tree Maintenance
So I have made a number of calls about dead tree limbs over our driveway. Med Ed sent out a "tree crew" who slept for at least half the the three days on our driveway and did not address the issues we had. They we never fixed.
Tonight we had a major tree fall on our power (which I warned would happen)...trapping both my ICU Nurse Daughter home as well as my wife who is a 3rd grade teacher.
When I called to report the outage...I was told..."no worries' all set by 9:00 PM.....it is now 9:00 PM and you guys are 'no show' as multiply times before.
Am happy to copy PUC and others...this will be the third times for issues with little or no response.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David Bradley from Perkiomenville, PA on November 1st, 2020



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Outage
They have useless information on restoration of service. Its basically and automatically 24 hours away, which is meaningless and meant to have you believe it does mean something. It doesnt.
When we first moved here our service was dependable. It has gotten steadily worse.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Doug from Gettysburg, PA on May 29th, 2019



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

14 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Shut Offs
You try to come to an agreement to pay a bill and they shut you off while on the phone with them and the person they send to shut it off knows for a fact you have been on the phone with Met Ed. They don't care about you or situation. They create hardship and then charge more to turn it on. When they simply push a button
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shut Off from Dover, PA on September 20th, 2022
Not even a customer yet and agitated
I tried to put in a request online to start services with Met-ed First Energy. I received an email reply that stated I would have to call in to set up services. I tried calling in and the automated line stated there was a 3 hour wait to talk to a customer service representative and to leave my number to recieve a call back. After 3 hours I recieved a call back. The customer service rep informed me that I needed to talk to someone in a different department to set up my account and put my on hold to wait for a rep in the correct department. I waited on hold for 2 and a half hours. They told me I needed to send 2 forms of identification to an email address and then call back in about 20 minutes to verify they recieved my documentation and accepted it. I go through the grueling 5 hour process of trying to get in touch with a person yet again after sending them an email.

Why does it take 10 hours of phone time to set up an account? Why is it my responsibility to call Met-Ed back to verify they accept my documentation? Wouldn't an email reply to my email be more efficient? If it is this difficult to become a customer I can not imagine the hassle one could run into needing support for any other item.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sheila Anderson from York Haven, PA on July 6th, 2022
The worst electic company
I because I am a worker and do not take advantage of the system have received o help at all. If anything do not go on budget plan. They charge you reducous fees. They even charge me security deposit when I have been with them for 5 years. The worst experience and customer service are also a piece of sh##. SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED FOR RIPPING POEPLE OFF.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Carole from Reading, PA on May 27th, 2022
Terrible service extremely expensive
They dont answer the phone you will wait for over an hour on hold!!! Ridiculous and so expensive very high rates
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Christine from Granville, PA on April 1st, 2022
Terrible Customer Service
This is 2nd time in 2 business days that I have had to contact MetEd. The first was to tell them that they hadn't billed a $5000 a month account since September. I was on the phone for over 2 hours.
The second time was to try to pay my bill online. I have been on hold for 1 hour and 45 minutes and the clock is still ticking. The automated message said 18 to 23 minutes.
No one can help you. It shouldn't be that hard to take a payment over the phone.
Shame on you MetEd. Give me PECO anyday.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tracy from Douglassville, PA on January 10th, 2022
Generous rating
This company and its customer service is complete trash. They are greedy and do not care about trying to help their customers. The customer service is horrible when you can actually get them on the phone after them transferring you several timeseach time their they have high call volumes and put you on a return call list for an hour each time they need to transfer you. When you do get someone on the phone they dont attempt to help you and are dismissive. The company is money hungry and greedy and they seem to get their customer service agents from the sewer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Noneya from Lebanon, PA on November 17th, 2021
New Service
It's been Weeks trying to get an inspection for a New House Service,
Can these technicians be that Busy they can't inspect underground trench ? How many phone calls does it take to get that done, or even a phone call back??
Terrible Company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

J.Baker from Gettysburg, PA on March 29th, 2021
If you have a choice, dont choose them
We unfortunately do not have an option in our neighborhood for a different provider. These guys have been an absolute joke. First, our electric use to go out ALL the time, it rained we had no power. Windy? Forget it, no power. They replaced all the lines in our neighborhood this summer, and took months to fill in the holes they dug, then the neighborhood had to plant the grass!!! Immediately after that my electric Bill doubled! Nothing changed in our home, if anything we turned off our AC, and the bill should have been less! Here found out that somehow a third party electric company was providing our electric through MedEd! After fighting with them to cancel it our electric bill finally went back to normal. Now, were caught up to today. We loose a leg to our home, HAD to get an electrician to come confirm that. MedEd calls me and talks to me about it, tells me over the phone its a leg and he can see it on his side. He still sends a service technician to confirm what he and my electrician said. The service tech tells me the same exact thing and then tells me a tech crew is on the way. Two hours later they STILL are not here! Meanwhile I have stressed to MedEd that we are on well water, that our furnace is ran with the well water and temperatures are now dropping below 58 in my home. The response? They understand and will get someone here... I called back and stressed the fact that I have had no water or heat in my home for 6 hours now. This ladys response? Theyll have the power restored by 11pm, thats the only answer they can give me. Thats in less than 10 minutes.. this has been going on since 4pm!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dont Bother Calling Me from Mechanicsburg, PA on December 30th, 2020
Worst electric company in Pa, NY, DE
Constantly lose electric. This
Time 20 hours in 75 degree weather. Still no electric. Over a very small rain storm. They have no respect or regard for their customers. They cant handle their customer base. They should be shut down!! A monopoly of the poorest service and company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Met Ed from Pottstown, PA on June 4th, 2020
Worst Power Company
Without power almost 30hrs 90 year old father!! Bullish/t recordings. Customer service sucks. Everyone in my development would change companies in a heart beat.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Not Happy from Sciota, PA on December 3rd, 2019