We currently recommend electricity plans from Frontier Utilities, Constellation, Tomorrow Energy and Public Power

BAIT and SWITCH!

(1 / 5)

  BEWARE of this company!!! NRG will promise to save you money and at first you will. But they will then change your account to "variable" and before you know it you will be paying DOUBLE or more. I contacted my previous supplier, Penelec and inquired about their rate. (the company NRG promised to be cheaper than) They quoted me a rate of HALF what I am currently paying with NRG. When I called to cancel the operator said that after 3 months my account went to variable and that yes I was paying a much higher rate. WOW....pretty much blatant theft right there. DO NOT fall for their sales pitch. This company is corrupt in their business practices and has infuriated many customers according to their reviews. I wish I had known before I made the switch but they caught us at Walmart where I couldn't fact check them. They tell you how they want to save you money and why wouldn't you switch? Nice sales pitch but unfortunately it is NOT TRUE!

Joe
June 25th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This is a scam!!!

(1 / 5)

  I was approached in a Walmart. I was intrigued! Then after 3 months, my bill spiked! So I tried to cancel it. I was told that it was canceled, but I was getting bills $400-$500 a month!!! I cant afford that. Come to find out thy not only did the rep not cancel the services, its price is more than double of the actual electric company. Please dont ask to speak to a supervisor because in this multimillion dollar company, they only have one that is able to help! I was robbed for damn near $3000!!!!

Pissed Off
June 17th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great people

(5 / 5)

  The people, service and saving are great. I would highly recommend them.

Steve
June 17th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst too much expensive

(1 / 5)

  I used to pay 80 dollars average but after switching to this My cost went up to 400 dollars.. never ever try this.

S
May 30th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

it's worth it

(4.6 / 5)

  I signed up with some guy in Walmart. I usually don't stop at those kind of things but he seemed so happy i had to see what it was all about. I signed up before thanksgiving. First bill i saved a few dollars. I noticed a difference when my bill went from $220 down to $175. I saw these reviews and noticed everyone saying the same thing. The very few writing 5 star reviews are satisfied with NRG's service. Call and keep the program. Everyone wants to write a bad review when something doesn't go their way. Nobody writes a good review, when it meets their expectations.

it works
May 26th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NRG WILL NOT SAVE YOU ANY MONEY!!!

(2.2 / 5)

  They did not save me a penny!!! In March and April 2020 DPL's prices was 4.4 cents /KwH. NRG charged me 10.4 cents per kWh and 11.5 cents in April. If you want to save money DO NOT USE NRG!!!

Mark
May 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't fall for their WE WILL SAVE YOU MONEY sales pitch...

(2.2 / 5)

  They did not save me a penny!!! In March and April 2020 DPL's prices was 4.4 cents /KwH. NRG charged me 10.4 cents per kWh and 11.5 cents in April. If you want to save money DO NOT USE NRG!!!

Mark
May 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rate

(1 / 5)

  Do not use these scammers. They will double your utility Bill in 3 months or less. They need a lawsuit filed against them.

Lou
April 27th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ripoff

(1 / 5)

  I switched to NRG to get a Southwest Airlines promotional reward (miles). The intro rate was lower than I was paying. However, over time they increased my rates to 2.5 times market rates. Shame on me for not noticing right away. When I noticed I switched back to BG&E as my supplier, reduced my rates from over $.15 to under $.07 per kWh. This is their business model. They lure people in with promotions and teaser rates and then count on the fact that most don't analyze their bill each month and/or the fact that the process to switch back isn't transparent or easy to figure out. I will say that once I called they offered to reduce my rates and when I persisted in saying I wanted to end the relationship the woman I spoke to did so readily.
My mistake of switching to NRG cost me hundreds of dollars easily. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY TO PROVIDE YOUR POWER.
Deceptive company!

Andy
April 17th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible - rate tripled in 3 months time.

(1 / 5)

  Started using them as they were cheaper than West Penn. That lasted 2 month. Rate tripled and compared to West Penn they are more than double now.

RagsKP94
April 16th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Price gouging after contract expires

(1 / 5)

  I switched from NRG back to my local supplier after NRG messed up my billing then failed to renew my contract. After one month my electric bill doubled. Customer service said that was the variable rate now. Pretty bad during these times people losing their job NRG decides to double their price.

RT
April 15th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Heating and Air condition company ever

(1.6 / 5)

  I wanted central Air for the summers but the salesman; Ziv, talked me into getting a heater as well.. My heater was doing great and was only six years old. But the smooth talking salesman got me to order heating as well.
I am 80 years old and get cold easily.
Where I sit is right in front of a floor vent. When ever the heat goes on, there is a blast of cold air right at me.
They sent a specialist to check the heater and after checking it out he said I should shut down the vent. WHAT? My old heater was fine, now Im freezing.

NEVER TRUST this company or Ziv the salesman.

I would pay to have my old heater back, it worked perfectly.

Worst heater ever
March 19th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Increasing rates

(1 / 5)

  Started in August when use and price was low. By late February, once rates became "variable", NRG increased rate from .47 to.71. This is a rip off

Potomac MD User
March 5th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible company

(1 / 5)

  Worst electric supplier ever! Dont fall for promotional scams. They charged us double price for electric after a 3 month promotional period expired which I was never told was a promotion in the first place. I even asked if the price would shoot up and they said it would remain the same price for a year. Not only are they liars, but they double charge each month and apparently thats how they make there money because they cant keep customers long enough to do so.

hwarnock0507
February 26th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cheap for the first 3 months. Then watch out!!!!

(1 / 5)

  I signed up with NRG after talking with a rep several months back. At first it seemed great because I was saving a few bucks on my electricity by going with them. After the 3 month contract special was up they kicked me into a higher priced tier for the next three months with my bill going up all three months. Even though I used less electricity in Feb 2020 it was even higher than Jan. My rate increased twice in the last 3 months.

Don't go with NRG.

T
February 20th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scamming

(1 / 5)

  I called to cancel and they hung up on me twice.

Chris
February 20th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Big Rip Off. Stay Away

(1 / 5)

  I signed up with a low rate of .05 kWh. It's kind of like the frog in slowly boiling water analogy. They slowly sneak the price per kWh until it's more than double when you notice what's going on. It takes another billing cycle to get rid of them. Cost me hundreds of dollars more than the electric supplier would have been if I had not switched. Terrible decision

Frank
February 18th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Total Scam - DO NOT SIGN UP

(1 / 5)

  We used them for electricity. First 3 months was slightly lower than AEP. We forgot to call at the end of 3 months to renew the rate (which is ridiculous that you have to call every 3 months) and last month the rate was .064 (AEP was .054). Just got the bill for this month and now the rate is .084 (AEP is still .054). Complete scam artists. I will NEVER recommend this company to anyone. Other family members have had the same experience with the price gouging. I cannot say enough now much I hate this company.

Dan
February 18th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fraud

(1 / 5)

  This company fraudulently had me sign up in Sams club telling me I was already sign with there company. Do not trust them

L Quinn
February 15th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Solar Panel Payoff

(1 / 5)

  Inept, unprofessional, with their head up their #%&. These people have no clue about customer service, adherence to policy or anything closely related to running a business. Do NOT start using them for services, and if you have a choice, opt for another provider!

Bill
February 14th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions