Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Direct Energy are their billing & account management system, rated at 4.5 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 4.3 of 5.
5 Stars
45%
 
4 Stars
36%
 
3 Stars
9%
 
2 Stars
5%
 
1 Stars
9%
 

Review from Review of Direct Energy

Review of Direct Energy
It was simple and easy. Look for best price with average contract length and no penalties for early discontinue.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Review Of Direct Energy from Youngwood, PA on September 29th, 2020
Hi there! Thank you so much for this awesome review! Direct Energy is proud to offer our customers some of the most competitive rates that can be found anywhere, along with many incentives, promotions and a world class customer experience. We are thrilled to have you as a part of our big family and we appreciate your trust and loyalty! Have a beautiful day! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy


Recent Good Review from Review of Direct Energy

Review of Direct Energy
It was simple and easy. Look for best price with average contract length and no penalties for early discontinue.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Review Of Direct Energy from Youngwood, PA on September 29th, 2020
Hi there! Thank you so much for this awesome review! Direct Energy is proud to offer our customers some of the most competitive rates that can be found anywhere, along with many incentives, promotions and a world class customer experience. We are thrilled to have you as a part of our big family and we appreciate your trust and loyalty! Have a beautiful day! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

10 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Super
Very satisfied with supplier
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Art from Mechanicsburg, PA on February 10th, 2020
This is excellent news, Art! Our primary goals always include responding efficiently, providing outstanding customer care, and ensuring our customers have a re-established peace of mind that comes with having a trusted energy company working with them. We are glad this has been the case for you as well! Best wishes to you and your family. Stay safe and stay healthy. - Megan / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Energy Shoppers Review
I Received my renewal notice, and compared prices, only to find Direct energy was more than some others for the same one year, no fee,no cancellation charge,plan. Based on that I checked with them and found that was the best they could do, but I was offered a $100.00 gift card, which made up the difference. That sweetener, sealed the deal, for me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Paul Myers from on December 9th, 2019
Thank you for opting to stay with us! We are pleased to have earned your trust, and we look forward to having you as our customer for may years to come. Have a wonderful day!
— Direct Energy
Excellent Customer Service
I did a live chat to check on rates to renew my plan and was very pleased with the service I received. Assisted me with a great rate. I did not want to switch plans because of the reliability and assistance I have always received.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cheryl from Richland, PA on October 24th, 2019
We are so thrilled that you had a smooth renewal experience! Thank you for sharing in this review, and have a wonderful holiday season!
— Direct Energy
Direct Energy rating
Easy to sign up.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Direct Energy Review from Albrightsville, PA on October 10th, 2019
Excellent, thank you for sharing your experience! We look forward to providing you with outstanding service for many years to come. Have a wonderful day!
— Direct Energy
Satisfied Customer
Direct Energy had the best price for my needs and they provided all they promised.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rosiern from 17523 on September 25th, 2019
Thank you for sharing this review based on your personal experience, Rosie! This is exactly what we strive to achieve for each and every one of our customers, so we love to see the affirmation. We thank you, and wish you a wonderful weekend!
— Direct Energy
Reputable
Never a problem. Real deal. No scams!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Janet Koch from Danville, PA on March 24th, 2019
Hi Janet,

We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide an exceptional rating based on your experience with us. We are working diligently to improve processes within our company to ensure that we have consistently great customer satisfaction. Please feel free to reach out to one of our live chat agents on our website or by phone with your full contact information should you ever need our assistance. Thank you again and have an amazing day!

-Marie
— Direct Energy
Direct Energy, our electric supplier
Direct Energy's price per KW Hour was about .0075 of a cent, less than our Electric Co. The change over and billing was flawless.
A pleased customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Paul Myers from Conestoga, PA on September 9th, 2018
Thank you for the amazing 5-star ratings! We are so happy to hear that you are saving money with us, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Have a wonderful day! - Stevie N.
— Direct Energy
Direct Energy review
Great price, no cancellation fees
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Direct Energy from Albrightsville, PA on July 10th, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review! We appreciate your ratings, and we are glad to have you on the Direct Energy team. -Eleanor
— Direct Energy
Direct
Straight forward
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Direct from Lancaster, PA on June 19th, 2018
Thank you for your feedback and rating, Direct! We are thrilled to hear you have enjoyed your experience with us up to this point. Please feel free to connect with our Live Chat team through our website www.directenergy.com in the future if you have questions or concerns. Have a great day! -Eleanor
— Direct Energy
Seemless transition, very competitive offering
Direct Energy offered the best rates, and a seamless transition from my previous generation supplier.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

KJS from Camp Hill, PA on April 29th, 2018
We're so glad that you're enjoying our services and that the transition to us was completely seamless! Thank you for the great review! -Kate
— Direct Energy



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

8 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Review of Direct Energy
It was simple and easy. Look for best price with average contract length and no penalties for early discontinue.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Review Of Direct Energy from Youngwood, PA on September 29th, 2020
Hi there! Thank you so much for this awesome review! Direct Energy is proud to offer our customers some of the most competitive rates that can be found anywhere, along with many incentives, promotions and a world class customer experience. We are thrilled to have you as a part of our big family and we appreciate your trust and loyalty! Have a beautiful day! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Excellent customer service
Tamra was our customer account representative. She was beyond helpful in such a professional and kind way.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bills Sandwich Shop from New Castle, PA on March 20th, 2020
We appreciate you for letting us know of this positive experience with Tamra! This is great news and we will be sure to pass this feedback along to the appropriate team for recognition. Thank you for being a Direct Energy customer! Have a great week and stay safe out there. - Megan / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Get smart.
Very good for 2 yrs. now what for next 2 yrs?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

George Wagner from Carlisle, PA on December 31st, 2019
Hi George, and thank you for the awesome star-ratings! If your initial 2 year agreement is coming to an end, please keep any eye out for your renewal information. It should be on the one of the last pages contained in your monthly billing statement approximately 2 statements prior to expiration. This will let you know what renewal options and promotions are available for you, and advise on how to accept a renewal offer. Please make sure to have this completed by the actual contract end date; if a renewal option is not selected, the account will roll into a month to month, variable rate plan. You may accept a renewal by contacting us using any of the methods listed here: https://www.hwahomewarranty.com/contact-us. Thank you, George, and have a wonderful week!
— Direct Energy
Natural gas
This company has the best price and is easy to sign with no early termination fee
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Coplay, PA on November 18th, 2019
Thank you for the kind words, Mike! We are so pleased to know you are happy with the price and the plan that you have. Enjoy your holiday!
— Direct Energy
DE
It looks like a nice service and distribution.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DE from Pittsburgh, PA on August 13th, 2019
Thanks, DE! We appreciate the support!
— Direct Energy
Generation only.
Never any problems.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Good Supplier & Prices Repeat Customer. from Enola, PA on December 27th, 2018
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Hope you have an amazing day. Allie
— Direct Energy
Great rates
I needed to shop for electric and found Direct Energy online. After reading about your company, and having positive results, I decided to sign up.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mary Beth Hooper from Camp Hill, PA on November 3rd, 2018
We appreciate you taking time out of your day to leave us a review. Have a great week! - Allie
— Direct Energy
"Getting to know you!"
Being new with Direct Energy I need a little more time to experience. So far I am very pleased with the price and that means a lot to me. Using Direct Energy for both Gas and Electric, is allowing me to stay in my home. When you are on a fixed income, this is monumental. Thank you, Direct Energy.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Betty J. Morgan from Washington, PA on December 20th, 2017
Thanks for the wonderful feedback, Betty. We are so glad you decided to go with us as your supplier. Have a fantastic day! - Cole
— Direct Energy



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Promo
Was supposed to get a gift card for a review and NEVER got the gift card.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gift Card from Canonsburg, PA on February 29th, 2020
Hi Jeff! We are so sorry for this delay in delivery. We can absolutely follow-up on this missing giftcard. Please reach out to our Digital Care team through the avenue of your choice to proceed forward with assistance:

Live Chat: https://www.directenergy.com/
Social Media: https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/

We are looking forward to providing you a quick resolution to this matter! Thank you for your time. - Megan / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Renewing Contract
I have tried to contact Direct Energy for 2 days to renew contract. It appears that the low rate is only available to new customers. I have been with them for 5 yrs and went online to do a Chat but each time I am told 6 people in the Que. I wait until it gets down to 1 and then a message comes up that no agents available. I get out and go right back in and 6 in Que again. Last year when contract was up the price to renew went up. This year it looks like quite a bit. It appears that they get you in and then continue to raise the price.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Milo from Mechanicsburg, PA on January 24th, 2019
Hi Milo! All customers who sign up with us will receive a new customer promotions, similar to your initial experience. Once that promotional offer ends we will offer renewal options and plans that can allow you to still maintain a reduced bill. If you would like us to look into your offers please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account details. - Allie
— Direct Energy



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
$99 cancellation fee voided
My recent experience with Direct Energy was not exactly pleasant. My bill was very high, I cancelled the service and went back to MetEd with lower rates. However Direct Energy charged me a $99 cancellation fee after only a little over 1 month service.
I responded to their email to rate their service and explained how upset I was to be charged the cancellation fee as the representative had told me it was not usually enforced.
I have just received another email from Direct Energy stating the are voiding the fee for me. I greatly appreciate this since I am on a limited income. Thank you so much for this!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Janet J from Lebanon, PA on August 15th, 2017
Sorry to hear of the experience you had originally. We are glad to hear that an agent was able to assist you with removing the fee. Please feel free to reach out if you have any unresolved concerns at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. Thank you,- Cole
— Direct Energy



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Thieves - DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY
I was unfortunately a Direct Energy customer for years. My wife pays the bills and wasn't really paying attention to the amount on the electric bill. One day I opened the bill and was shocked. So I researched the kw/hr price I was being charged by Direct Energy with what the typical price was. WOW.

Direct Energy was happily charging me over DOUBLE their current price. Basically, they were stealing from me. Companies need to make money. I get it. But Direct Energy's behavior is unethical and should be illegal. No phone call, no email. Zero effort was made to help a long-time customer to not be price gouged.

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.

If they offered me a rate at half of everyone else, I still wouldn't use them.

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dave T In PA from Elverson, PA on June 19th, 2020
Hi Dave, we regret to learn you are disappointed with your rate. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you and find the best plan that can suit to fit your energy needs.

If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact us at 1-888-305-3828, Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. CST and Saturday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. CST, or engage with our Live Chat agent from www.directenergy.com It will be a pleasure to help you, and we look forward to hearing from you! - Emma / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Rip off
They were fine until the contract was up. Decided not to renew when I realized customer service was in South America. When I got my last bill with them they put the energy charge way up. It increase about one third.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cynthia Adams from Harrisburg, PA on February 3rd, 2020
Hi Cynthia. We can understand your concern with the final invoice that was priced based on a non-contract rate. Our system will automatically transition accounts that have expired contracts to non-contract pricing to ensure there is no interruption of service. Under our variable rate pricing, the rate we set each month is based on the company evaluation of market conditions. Market conditions the company may consider include: the prevailing price of electricity on the market, costs involved in moving the electricity from the producer to the utility, our total acquisition costs for the electricity, and the prevailing rates offered by the utility and other competitors. If you have any questions or concerns regarding your closed DE account, please do not hesitate to reach out to us through Social Media https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/ or Live Chat https://www.directenergy.com/. We hope you have a great day and stay safe out there. - Eleanor / Digital Care
— Direct Energy



All Direct Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
VS. PECO
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
8.19¢ / kwh
  • NEW CUSTOMERS ONLY!
  • 18 Month Fixed Rate
    18 month
    Fixed Rate
    7.89¢ / kwh
  • NEW CUSTOMERS ONLY!