Review of Direct Energy
It was simple and easy. Look for best price with average contract length and no penalties for early discontinue.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Review Of Direct Energy from Youngwood, PA on September 29th, 2020
Hi there! Thank you so much for this awesome review! Direct Energy is proud to offer our customers some of the most competitive rates that can be found anywhere, along with many incentives, promotions and a world class customer experience. We are thrilled to have you as a part of our big family and we appreciate your trust and loyalty! Have a beautiful day! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Thieves - DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY
I was unfortunately a Direct Energy customer for years. My wife pays the bills and wasn't really paying attention to the amount on the electric bill. One day I opened the bill and was shocked. So I researched the kw/hr price I was being charged by Direct Energy with what the typical price was. WOW.

Direct Energy was happily charging me over DOUBLE their current price. Basically, they were stealing from me. Companies need to make money. I get it. But Direct Energy's behavior is unethical and should be illegal. No phone call, no email. Zero effort was made to help a long-time customer to not be price gouged.

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.

If they offered me a rate at half of everyone else, I still wouldn't use them.

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dave T In PA from Elverson, PA on June 19th, 2020
Hi Dave, we regret to learn you are disappointed with your rate. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you and find the best plan that can suit to fit your energy needs.

If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact us at 1-888-305-3828, Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. CST and Saturday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. CST, or engage with our Live Chat agent from www.directenergy.com It will be a pleasure to help you, and we look forward to hearing from you! - Emma / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Excellent customer service
Tamra was our customer account representative. She was beyond helpful in such a professional and kind way.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bills Sandwich Shop from New Castle, PA on March 20th, 2020
We appreciate you for letting us know of this positive experience with Tamra! This is great news and we will be sure to pass this feedback along to the appropriate team for recognition. Thank you for being a Direct Energy customer! Have a great week and stay safe out there. - Megan / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Promo
Was supposed to get a gift card for a review and NEVER got the gift card.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gift Card from Canonsburg, PA on February 29th, 2020
Hi Jeff! We are so sorry for this delay in delivery. We can absolutely follow-up on this missing giftcard. Please reach out to our Digital Care team through the avenue of your choice to proceed forward with assistance:

Live Chat: https://www.directenergy.com/
Social Media: https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/

We are looking forward to providing you a quick resolution to this matter! Thank you for your time. - Megan / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Super
Very satisfied with supplier
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Art from Mechanicsburg, PA on February 10th, 2020
This is excellent news, Art! Our primary goals always include responding efficiently, providing outstanding customer care, and ensuring our customers have a re-established peace of mind that comes with having a trusted energy company working with them. We are glad this has been the case for you as well! Best wishes to you and your family. Stay safe and stay healthy. - Megan / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Rip off
They were fine until the contract was up. Decided not to renew when I realized customer service was in South America. When I got my last bill with them they put the energy charge way up. It increase about one third.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cynthia Adams from Harrisburg, PA on February 3rd, 2020
Hi Cynthia. We can understand your concern with the final invoice that was priced based on a non-contract rate. Our system will automatically transition accounts that have expired contracts to non-contract pricing to ensure there is no interruption of service. Under our variable rate pricing, the rate we set each month is based on the company evaluation of market conditions. Market conditions the company may consider include: the prevailing price of electricity on the market, costs involved in moving the electricity from the producer to the utility, our total acquisition costs for the electricity, and the prevailing rates offered by the utility and other competitors. If you have any questions or concerns regarding your closed DE account, please do not hesitate to reach out to us through Social Media https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/ or Live Chat https://www.directenergy.com/. We hope you have a great day and stay safe out there. - Eleanor / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Get smart.
Very good for 2 yrs. now what for next 2 yrs?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

George Wagner from Carlisle, PA on December 31st, 2019
Hi George, and thank you for the awesome star-ratings! If your initial 2 year agreement is coming to an end, please keep any eye out for your renewal information. It should be on the one of the last pages contained in your monthly billing statement approximately 2 statements prior to expiration. This will let you know what renewal options and promotions are available for you, and advise on how to accept a renewal offer. Please make sure to have this completed by the actual contract end date; if a renewal option is not selected, the account will roll into a month to month, variable rate plan. You may accept a renewal by contacting us using any of the methods listed here: https://www.hwahomewarranty.com/contact-us. Thank you, George, and have a wonderful week!
— Direct Energy
Energy Shoppers Review
I Received my renewal notice, and compared prices, only to find Direct energy was more than some others for the same one year, no fee,no cancellation charge,plan. Based on that I checked with them and found that was the best they could do, but I was offered a $100.00 gift card, which made up the difference. That sweetener, sealed the deal, for me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Paul Myers from on December 9th, 2019
Thank you for opting to stay with us! We are pleased to have earned your trust, and we look forward to having you as our customer for may years to come. Have a wonderful day!
— Direct Energy
Natural gas
This company has the best price and is easy to sign with no early termination fee
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Coplay, PA on November 18th, 2019
Thank you for the kind words, Mike! We are so pleased to know you are happy with the price and the plan that you have. Enjoy your holiday!
— Direct Energy
Excellent Customer Service
I did a live chat to check on rates to renew my plan and was very pleased with the service I received. Assisted me with a great rate. I did not want to switch plans because of the reliability and assistance I have always received.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cheryl from Richland, PA on October 24th, 2019
We are so thrilled that you had a smooth renewal experience! Thank you for sharing in this review, and have a wonderful holiday season!
— Direct Energy







Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Direct Energy are the order experience, rated at 4.5 out of 5, and their billing & account management system, rated at 4.5 of 5.
5 Stars
43%
 
4 Stars
35%
 
3 Stars
9%
 
2 Stars
4%
 
1 Stars
9%
 
4.3 / 5
Overall
4.1 / 5
Price, Plans and Promotions
4.5 / 5
Order Experience
4.2 / 5
Customer Service
4.5 / 5
Billing and Account Management
4.2 / 5
Likely to Recommend
About Direct Energy

Direct Energy is one of the largest providers of energy and energy-related services in North America. With customers in all 50 states, 10 Canadian provinces, and Washington, D.C. Direct Energy has also shown to be a progressive company, developing new plans, products and technology that deliver consumer insights and resources to help them save money. The Nest Learning Thermostat, Plenti and their personalized Online Account Manager are all tools that Direct Energy puts in the hands of their customers to use less energy. They're also very progressive, with active social communities on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest that help them stay in contact with their customers.


Recommended Electricity Plans