Reviews for NRG Home

The best review categories for NRG Home are the order experience, with an average of 2.3 stars, and their customer service, with an average of 2.3 stars.


Review from Rick Waters

Awesome Experience!
I tried it in a Sams called back in 3 months 3years later im saving money and getting checks
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rick Waters from Coraopolis, PA on December 29th, 2020


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

7 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
No complaints
I have only positive thoughts so far for this company!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eileen from Center Valley, PA on January 30th, 2022
R
Great
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nicholas from Brackney, PA on January 24th, 2022
Great energy supplier
Like the weekly energy usage chart.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Glen from Ephrata, PA on December 29th, 2021
NRG is a Plus
I switched to get my electric costs reduced, they had a great plan, and service. I like the weekly summary review of energy use -- very user friendly.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

LMM from Northampton, PA on December 21st, 2021
Valued Customer
I like the 3 month pricing plans. This is the second time I am using their service. I enjoy the competitive rates cause I have an all electric house.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Soccrpav from Pittsburgh, PA on August 7th, 2021
Awesome Experience!
I tried it in a Sams called back in 3 months 3years later im saving money and getting checks
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rick Waters from Coraopolis, PA on December 29th, 2020
People wake up
Im Not in NRG but soon will be .. you people ALL of you who wrote a negative reply about NRG you need to understand that its not there fault as Humans beings we are all looking for that "DEAL" but how long do you really think its going to last yes they give you treats to join but they also mention that its INTRODUCTORY offer meaning its going to change and the funny part its right there in-front of you but like ALL humans Me included we dont read the fine print .. it clearly tells you that after the introductory offer that if you do not reply back your rate will go to a Variable until at which point you decide to reup with the Utility, People its YOUR RESPONSIBILITY to read your mail not NRGs so stop your bitchin and start reading enough said
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Scott from Easton, PA on May 24th, 2019



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

7 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Satisfied
I love the service n savings
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jim Patterson from Altoona, PA on January 13th, 2022
Good Customer Service
I had a good experience with signing up with NRG
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

TITAN 61 from Corry, PA on January 3rd, 2022
None
Satisfied
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Client from Milford, PA on December 20th, 2021
Electric
Good communication
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mary Ann from Mechanicsburg, PA on December 11th, 2021
Read the fine print
Great so far, make sure you call a month after you sign up to ensure you'll retain promotional pricing. They'll also extend it another 3 months if you ask.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ty from Pittsburgh, PA on September 20th, 2021
Responsible/Expensive Company
Great company, knowledgeable employees, only problem once u've used your fixed contract they get expensive from their on. They have good promo's, and now fair teaser rates, they used to be better. Highly responsible company so if rates are not the issue I highly recommend.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very Good Company from Mc Elhattan, PA on May 19th, 2019
Great Customer Service had good promo
12 months is the best experience for staying competitive. Only downfall, I wanted to stay with them but staying competitive is not there strong suit.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dkc from Mc Elhattan, PA on June 20th, 2018



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

4 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
First month with NRG.
Good prices.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nannyg from Allentown, PA on February 5th, 2022
So far so good
Im a new NRG Home customer and so far so good! Hope to continue as a customer if pricing is better then others and customer service continues to be accommodating.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

REW from Aliquippa, PA on January 16th, 2022
Shop around
Had NRG after a bad experience with other supplier that almost doubled my rate after it expired. And paid high amount for 3 months not paying attention
NRG would have kept bus but price went from 6.7 to 7.6, therefore I called Frintier and now I'm paying less than I am now. Easy over the phone sign up
Ther
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joseph Moffitt from Allentown, PA on November 2nd, 2020
NRG Manager here to clarify
Rates are adjusted QUARTERLY to undercut the distributor and that is why our plans are 3 months long. March, June, September, and December are the months to call and check in. A good rep will explain that to you multiple times before the end of the signup, but if they did not it is also in writing on the email confirmation, cancellation form, and welcome letter you will receive. What some folks fail to understand is that we cannot possibly remember every face nor force people to pick up the phone or stop in for the 3 minutes it takes to renew your account and always make sure youre saving a few bucks. YOU MUST EITHER CALL TO RENEW OR TO CANCEL TO AVOID THE VARIABLE RATES. I try my absolute best to inform people to the best of my abilities but I can't speak on anyone else's behalf. I wish things were a little clearer and that folks were trained better, but unfortunately that is over my head and I did feel compelled to write this to clarify that it is the customer's responsibility to maintain their account. We have hundreds of thousands of customers, reminder emails get lost and we cannot possibly remember every face, so please put your dates on your calendars.

We are a good company that does a ton of charity work, employ thousands of Americans, and are working on better technology to generate cleaner energy for our future generations.

I hope this helps.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anonymous NRG Manager from Lansdale, PA on September 13th, 2019



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

3 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Craptastic
Got bill sent check. Got letter and check that their equipment couldnt read my pen. Really no way to handle that? No direction on what to do? I called got answering machi e that cant understand english. Got offer to be called back and after many requirements still didnt call ne back. Worst experience ever. Id rather deal with Comcast than this compant
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David from Cherry Tree, PA on January 13th, 2022
Not enough time
Not enough time to accurately be able to assess
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Krissy from Mohrsville, PA on September 18th, 2021
Rates get ridiculously high quickly
Signed up and rep was nice, customer service is nice but if you are in a variable rate agreement you better check your rates closely. Got the rate I signed up for 2 months and then it went up 23% in month 3 and another 16% in month 4....really!!!!! I beleive this company just takes advance of people. Still with the utility providers, at least they have to justify their rates with the public utility commission!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

C-Real from Pittsburgh, PA on January 11th, 2019



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

36 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Rates
I signed up at Walmart and received a gift card, not realizing the rate offered was only valid for 3 months. Since I pay my electric bill with autopay, I never really paid attention to the cost of electricity. I signed at a rate of 0.07 per kwh. After 3 months, I come to learn now that they raised my rate to 0.09 per kwh. Within a year, I was up to 0.12 per kwh, nearly double. When I asked why this was done, they said because I did not call them back to lock in for an extended rate. I asked if it was due to utility pricing and they said no. They raised the rate because they could, not because energy prices went up. They can raise your rate 30% in one month if they choose and you do not lock in a set rate. DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Daniel from Coraopolis, PA on March 2nd, 2022
BEWARE
I will say, that if you are very very good at maintaining contact with them every 3 months to "renew your rate." There is a possibility they could save you money. PLEASE if you risk it with this company, READ THE FINE PRINT and fully understand what you are getting yourself into. Their business model is bogus and they hook people with their promotion prices and then slowly raise your rate in the background without notification (unless you are on a 6 or 12 month plan apparently). This is where it gets confusing for me. I don't recall being given this option, but of course the people that work at stands in Walmart on commission are probably told to push the 3 month plan to make more $ because people will obviously forget to call in and renew their rate every 3 months. There is zero integrity in this company. It's all a promotion and then they can just raise your rate as high as they want once that promotion is over, unless you call for a new promotion. Our current electric bill is over $1,000! In the middle of a February snow storm, they had the audacity to charge double the normal rate for my fully electric home to my younger brother and 8 month old son. I guess we freeze to death or starve. They have been way over charging me for electricity since April 2021 and I had ZERO clue that I was supposed to call them for a lower rate. I take some responsibility for not reading the fine print. But calling to renew every 3 or even 6 months in the middle of pregnancy, raising a baby, and death of a family member is ABSURD. Unless you are hyper organized and can remember to call them regularly, I would just stay FAR FAR away. There's too many things going on in life at any given time that's what they are banking on. That you will forget, not notice the increase over time and then make a killing off of you.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

UnhappyCustomer from Ambridge, PA on February 4th, 2022
Non-responsive Customer Services
I received a letter in 12/2021 that NRG does not support Net Metering and that if I need to contact customer service to make changes to my acct to contact them - so I did, by phone (No One Answers - on hold for 20+ mins before I hung) - so sent an email to Customer Service, never got a response.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I Ramirez from Effort, PA on January 24th, 2022
Scam
I never signed up for this service. Was told I signed up at Walmart, with an email address and phone number that weren't mine. Have been waiting for a response from a supervisor from NRG with no contact. NRG representative told me that independent contractors at stores will do this to get commission checks. Hours on the phone to "cancel" a contract I never entered, is infuriating.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nicole from Bradenville, PA on November 30th, 2021
High rate
Promise .06 per/kwh, I never notice till I look at the bill. NRG was charging me .081 per/kwh
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Peter Hong from Morton, PA on October 15th, 2021
Jacked up my rate because I didnt renew
I was with them for a year and had pretty competitive rates, but apparently I didnt renew so they doubled my p/kwh. I called to cancel and they offered me another competitive rate, but they effectively wiped out any savings Id had for the year by doubling my rate for 3 months.

Its a pretty dirty business model. Dont use them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ryan Kay from Philadelphia, PA on August 5th, 2021
Bad Business Practices
They doubled my rate with no nonfiction. Call and was told there was nothing I could do about it. Call utility company and stop all payments.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Harry from Garnet Valley, PA on August 2nd, 2021
Charged Twice as Much as PECO Rates
I don't remember signing up but it was only after reviewing my outrageous bill in detail did I realize that NRG was charging me $0.119/KWH when PECO's pricing was $0.0640...nearly double the costs and I had been paying that rate for over 2 years. Shame on me for not looking at my bill closely but shame on them for charging nearly double PECO's rates. In all, I think I paid nearly $2,000 more than I should have for the past 24 months!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sally from Skippack, PA on June 24th, 2021
Scam!
Was shopping in Walmart and was approach but NRG salesman. Was told if I gave my information I was only signing up to receive info and was to receive $20 Walmart gift card. Did not receive gift card and starting receiving emails thanking me for signing up for an account. When I called they confirmed I had indeed signed up. Do not fall for this. Especially when they say they are using your drivers license only to validate you are a Duquesne Light customer. Scam!!! When I called to ensure it was cancelled I asked for my gift card and there was no way for them to give me one.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

NRG Salesmen In Stores Running Scams! from Coraopolis, PA on June 11th, 2021
Put me in the poor house!
I switched after being approached in the airport and since Im on a PECO budget plan I wasnt checking monthly bills and just got a catch up bill for over $800 and my monthly budget job mped up by $55 per month due to high increase in NRG charges! Total scam!!! Im dropping them immediately and may pursue legal action.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

PoorHousewife from Willow Grove, PA on May 14th, 2021