Reviews Overview
The best review categories for NRG Home are the order experience, rated at 1.9 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 1.8 of 5.
5 Stars
6%
 
4 Stars
6%
 
3 Stars
6%
 
2 Stars
3%
 
1 Stars
81%
 

Review from Rick Waters

Awesome Experience!
I tried it in a Sams called back in 3 months 3years later im saving money and getting checks
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rick Waters from Coraopolis, PA on December 29th, 2020


Recent Good Review from Rick Waters

Awesome Experience!
I tried it in a Sams called back in 3 months 3years later im saving money and getting checks
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rick Waters from Coraopolis, PA on December 29th, 2020


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Awesome Experience!
I tried it in a Sams called back in 3 months 3years later im saving money and getting checks
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rick Waters from Coraopolis, PA on December 29th, 2020
People wake up
Im Not in NRG but soon will be .. you people ALL of you who wrote a negative reply about NRG you need to understand that its not there fault as Humans beings we are all looking for that "DEAL" but how long do you really think its going to last yes they give you treats to join but they also mention that its INTRODUCTORY offer meaning its going to change and the funny part its right there in-front of you but like ALL humans Me included we dont read the fine print .. it clearly tells you that after the introductory offer that if you do not reply back your rate will go to a Variable until at which point you decide to reup with the Utility, People its YOUR RESPONSIBILITY to read your mail not NRGs so stop your bitchin and start reading enough said
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Scott from Easton, PA on May 24th, 2019



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Responsible/Expensive Company
Great company, knowledgeable employees, only problem once u've used your fixed contract they get expensive from their on. They have good promo's, and now fair teaser rates, they used to be better. Highly responsible company so if rates are not the issue I highly recommend.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very Good Company from Mc Elhattan, PA on May 19th, 2019
Great Customer Service had good promo
12 months is the best experience for staying competitive. Only downfall, I wanted to stay with them but staying competitive is not there strong suit.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dkc from Mc Elhattan, PA on June 20th, 2018



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Shop around
Had NRG after a bad experience with other supplier that almost doubled my rate after it expired. And paid high amount for 3 months not paying attention
NRG would have kept bus but price went from 6.7 to 7.6, therefore I called Frintier and now I'm paying less than I am now. Easy over the phone sign up
Ther
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joseph Moffitt from Allentown, PA on November 2nd, 2020
NRG Manager here to clarify
Rates are adjusted QUARTERLY to undercut the distributor and that is why our plans are 3 months long. March, June, September, and December are the months to call and check in. A good rep will explain that to you multiple times before the end of the signup, but if they did not it is also in writing on the email confirmation, cancellation form, and welcome letter you will receive. What some folks fail to understand is that we cannot possibly remember every face nor force people to pick up the phone or stop in for the 3 minutes it takes to renew your account and always make sure youre saving a few bucks. YOU MUST EITHER CALL TO RENEW OR TO CANCEL TO AVOID THE VARIABLE RATES. I try my absolute best to inform people to the best of my abilities but I can't speak on anyone else's behalf. I wish things were a little clearer and that folks were trained better, but unfortunately that is over my head and I did feel compelled to write this to clarify that it is the customer's responsibility to maintain their account. We have hundreds of thousands of customers, reminder emails get lost and we cannot possibly remember every face, so please put your dates on your calendars.

We are a good company that does a ton of charity work, employ thousands of Americans, and are working on better technology to generate cleaner energy for our future generations.

I hope this helps.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anonymous NRG Manager from Lansdale, PA on September 13th, 2019



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Rates get ridiculously high quickly
Signed up and rep was nice, customer service is nice but if you are in a variable rate agreement you better check your rates closely. Got the rate I signed up for 2 months and then it went up 23% in month 3 and another 16% in month 4....really!!!!! I beleive this company just takes advance of people. Still with the utility providers, at least they have to justify their rates with the public utility commission!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

C-Real from Pittsburgh, PA on January 11th, 2019



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

25 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
NRG's Pricing Prowess
This review discusses NRG's pricing and their role as an alternative supplier of electricity. They supply the electricity to my provider, PP&L, so comment on that role actually describes my entire experience with NRG. I relied upon NRG as having trading experience and knowledge that might produce a better price than PP&L. Instead, I paid NRG 15.9 cents per KWH throughout this past winter (2020-2021), while PP&L was charging less than 8 cents. That gap is so wide as to contradict any real attempt at competition or skill at trading. It was a cold winter and I paid bills of $500-$800 per month. Before I was allowed to cancel, proposals from NRG's rep included price discounts for 3 months that would beat PP&L's pricing. That told me that NRG was ready to charge excessively high prices to existing customers to enable costly discounts to new (or renewing) customers. I will not do business with this outfit again.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rick from Paupack, PA on April 8th, 2021
Thieves ( NRG )
My electric bill doubled and I didn't even confirm their use, because I wasn't sure. Don't sign up with them , you'll be sorry. I'd like to see a law suit started for everone who was TAKEN !!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

NRG Don't Do It!! from Ligonier, PA on December 26th, 2020
Complete and utter scam
Was approached at Best buy, have noticed mtd and month over month utility bill has escalated exponentially shame on a company for taking advantage of people especially during this time in our country. Should be shut down by BBB. They promise to lock you in at a better rate lower than what you are being charged by regular provider, feel like they should be sued for purposely misinforming customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ko12 from Lititz, PA on November 6th, 2020
Overpriced and Very Poor Customer Service
I probably should have requested to speak to a supervisor but I am fed up with all of the hassle & pleading for better service. When I advised the agent that I had a lower rate available than NRG was offering & asked if NRG could match it she said that she would change it to the (higher) NRG rate and went into the rest of the spiel they read off. If you dont review your monthly price with NRG compared to other companies you will most definitely be overpriced! I overpaid $127 monthly for at least several months!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Disappointed Former NRG Customer from Reading, PA on September 3rd, 2020
Horrible customer service-HORRIBLE
Do not sign up for this company!!! They will ROB you. They signed me up telling me my bill will be lower than what peco can offer. Sign up, and then 6 months later they are charging me DOUBLE what peco wouldve charged me. PECO IS 6 cents per KW, NRG IS 14!! In a time where more than half of our WORLD is out of work with NO income, they are doubling the price for their energy! With no warning of a doubled increase!! Do not ever give these fucking scumbags your money. Ever. They will rob you and leave you hanging to die. Fuck you NRG.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Patrick from Philadelphia, PA on August 18th, 2020
NRG Home Power is a fraudulent company scamming people
These are crooks that promise savings then double or triple your bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

NRG FRAUD from King Of Prussia, PA on August 17th, 2020
NRG is a scam / these are con men and crooks
The set up in Walmart, they prmise to always be cheaper than your supplier, then they more than double the rate. These are crooks
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

NRG Is A Scam / Crooks from Berwyn, PA on August 16th, 2020
I always stayed away from that crappy company
They seem to have no renewable options, meaning they mostly use the most polluting source of energy such as coal. Their sales tactics are despicable. And, if you compare electric rates, they are not competitive.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Get The Crooks from Oxford, PA on July 27th, 2020
Doubled bill - no warning
They doubled my bill without warning. They told me that once the promo is over that the price would potentially go up to market value. Doubling isnt market value. Scummy business practice
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

James from Montoursville, PA on July 14th, 2020
BAIT and SWITCH!
BEWARE of this company!!! NRG will promise to save you money and at first you will. But they will then change your account to "variable" and before you know it you will be paying DOUBLE or more. I contacted my previous supplier, Penelec and inquired about their rate. (the company NRG promised to be cheaper than) They quoted me a rate of HALF what I am currently paying with NRG. When I called to cancel the operator said that after 3 months my account went to variable and that yes I was paying a much higher rate. WOW....pretty much blatant theft right there. DO NOT fall for their sales pitch. This company is corrupt in their business practices and has infuriated many customers according to their reviews. I wish I had known before I made the switch but they caught us at Walmart where I couldn't fact check them. They tell you how they want to save you money and why wouldn't you switch? Nice sales pitch but unfortunately it is NOT TRUE!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joe from Waterford, PA on June 25th, 2020


All NRG Home Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
VS. Penn Power
6 Month Fixed Rate
6 month
Fixed Rate
7.70¢ / kwh
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
8.50¢ / kwh
Popular Brand
3 month
Fixed Rate
6.60¢ / kwh