The best review categories for NRG Home are their customer service, with an average of 1.9 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 1.8 stars.

Review from Ty

Read the fine print
Great so far, make sure you call a month after you sign up to ensure you'll retain promotional pricing. They'll also extend it another 3 months if you ask.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ty from Pittsburgh, PA on September 20th, 2021


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

3 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Valued Customer
I like the 3 month pricing plans. This is the second time I am using their service. I enjoy the competitive rates cause I have an all electric house.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Soccrpav from Pittsburgh, PA on August 7th, 2021
Awesome Experience!
I tried it in a Sams called back in 3 months 3years later im saving money and getting checks
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rick Waters from Coraopolis, PA on December 29th, 2020
People wake up
Im Not in NRG but soon will be .. you people ALL of you who wrote a negative reply about NRG you need to understand that its not there fault as Humans beings we are all looking for that "DEAL" but how long do you really think its going to last yes they give you treats to join but they also mention that its INTRODUCTORY offer meaning its going to change and the funny part its right there in-front of you but like ALL humans Me included we dont read the fine print .. it clearly tells you that after the introductory offer that if you do not reply back your rate will go to a Variable until at which point you decide to reup with the Utility, People its YOUR RESPONSIBILITY to read your mail not NRGs so stop your bitchin and start reading enough said
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Scott from Easton, PA on May 24th, 2019



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

3 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Read the fine print
Great so far, make sure you call a month after you sign up to ensure you'll retain promotional pricing. They'll also extend it another 3 months if you ask.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ty from Pittsburgh, PA on September 20th, 2021
Responsible/Expensive Company
Great company, knowledgeable employees, only problem once u've used your fixed contract they get expensive from their on. They have good promo's, and now fair teaser rates, they used to be better. Highly responsible company so if rates are not the issue I highly recommend.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very Good Company from Mc Elhattan, PA on May 19th, 2019
Great Customer Service had good promo
12 months is the best experience for staying competitive. Only downfall, I wanted to stay with them but staying competitive is not there strong suit.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dkc from Mc Elhattan, PA on June 20th, 2018



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Shop around
Had NRG after a bad experience with other supplier that almost doubled my rate after it expired. And paid high amount for 3 months not paying attention
NRG would have kept bus but price went from 6.7 to 7.6, therefore I called Frintier and now I'm paying less than I am now. Easy over the phone sign up
Ther
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joseph Moffitt from Allentown, PA on November 2nd, 2020
NRG Manager here to clarify
Rates are adjusted QUARTERLY to undercut the distributor and that is why our plans are 3 months long. March, June, September, and December are the months to call and check in. A good rep will explain that to you multiple times before the end of the signup, but if they did not it is also in writing on the email confirmation, cancellation form, and welcome letter you will receive. What some folks fail to understand is that we cannot possibly remember every face nor force people to pick up the phone or stop in for the 3 minutes it takes to renew your account and always make sure youre saving a few bucks. YOU MUST EITHER CALL TO RENEW OR TO CANCEL TO AVOID THE VARIABLE RATES. I try my absolute best to inform people to the best of my abilities but I can't speak on anyone else's behalf. I wish things were a little clearer and that folks were trained better, but unfortunately that is over my head and I did feel compelled to write this to clarify that it is the customer's responsibility to maintain their account. We have hundreds of thousands of customers, reminder emails get lost and we cannot possibly remember every face, so please put your dates on your calendars.

We are a good company that does a ton of charity work, employ thousands of Americans, and are working on better technology to generate cleaner energy for our future generations.

I hope this helps.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anonymous NRG Manager from Lansdale, PA on September 13th, 2019



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Not enough time
Not enough time to accurately be able to assess
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Krissy from Mohrsville, PA on September 18th, 2021
Rates get ridiculously high quickly
Signed up and rep was nice, customer service is nice but if you are in a variable rate agreement you better check your rates closely. Got the rate I signed up for 2 months and then it went up 23% in month 3 and another 16% in month 4....really!!!!! I beleive this company just takes advance of people. Still with the utility providers, at least they have to justify their rates with the public utility commission!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

C-Real from Pittsburgh, PA on January 11th, 2019



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

32 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
High rate
Promise .06 per/kwh, I never notice till I look at the bill. NRG was charging me .081 per/kwh
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Peter Hong from Morton, PA on October 15th, 2021
Jacked up my rate because I didnt renew
I was with them for a year and had pretty competitive rates, but apparently I didnt renew so they doubled my p/kwh. I called to cancel and they offered me another competitive rate, but they effectively wiped out any savings Id had for the year by doubling my rate for 3 months.

Its a pretty dirty business model. Dont use them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ryan Kay from Philadelphia, PA on August 5th, 2021
Bad Business Practices
They doubled my rate with no nonfiction. Call and was told there was nothing I could do about it. Call utility company and stop all payments.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Harry from Garnet Valley, PA on August 2nd, 2021
Charged Twice as Much as PECO Rates
I don't remember signing up but it was only after reviewing my outrageous bill in detail did I realize that NRG was charging me $0.119/KWH when PECO's pricing was $0.0640...nearly double the costs and I had been paying that rate for over 2 years. Shame on me for not looking at my bill closely but shame on them for charging nearly double PECO's rates. In all, I think I paid nearly $2,000 more than I should have for the past 24 months!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sally from Skippack, PA on June 24th, 2021
Scam!
Was shopping in Walmart and was approach but NRG salesman. Was told if I gave my information I was only signing up to receive info and was to receive $20 Walmart gift card. Did not receive gift card and starting receiving emails thanking me for signing up for an account. When I called they confirmed I had indeed signed up. Do not fall for this. Especially when they say they are using your drivers license only to validate you are a Duquesne Light customer. Scam!!! When I called to ensure it was cancelled I asked for my gift card and there was no way for them to give me one.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

NRG Salesmen In Stores Running Scams! from Coraopolis, PA on June 11th, 2021
Put me in the poor house!
I switched after being approached in the airport and since Im on a PECO budget plan I wasnt checking monthly bills and just got a catch up bill for over $800 and my monthly budget job mped up by $55 per month due to high increase in NRG charges! Total scam!!! Im dropping them immediately and may pursue legal action.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

PoorHousewife from Willow Grove, PA on May 14th, 2021
Buyer Beware
As many others of talked about in their reviews, the company's business model appears to be attract you into an introductory offer, then charge obscenely high rates in the hope that you will pay your bills without paying attention. In my case, I have been paying .10790/kwh for the electricity portion of my bill, while PECO rates were .0627/kwh. When I called NRG, they wanted to offer me a new promotional rate.....I guess this works for someone who will stay on top of their tactics, but not for me. As it turns out, I have been paying out of market rates for many years.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bill R from Downingtown, PA on May 14th, 2021
NRG's Pricing Prowess
This review discusses NRG's pricing and their role as an alternative supplier of electricity. They supply the electricity to my provider, PP&L, so comment on that role actually describes my entire experience with NRG. I relied upon NRG as having trading experience and knowledge that might produce a better price than PP&L. Instead, I paid NRG 15.9 cents per KWH throughout this past winter (2020-2021), while PP&L was charging less than 8 cents. That gap is so wide as to contradict any real attempt at competition or skill at trading. It was a cold winter and I paid bills of $500-$800 per month. Before I was allowed to cancel, proposals from NRG's rep included price discounts for 3 months that would beat PP&L's pricing. That told me that NRG was ready to charge excessively high prices to existing customers to enable costly discounts to new (or renewing) customers. I will not do business with this outfit again.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rick from Paupack, PA on April 8th, 2021
Thieves ( NRG )
My electric bill doubled and I didn't even confirm their use, because I wasn't sure. Don't sign up with them , you'll be sorry. I'd like to see a law suit started for everone who was TAKEN !!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

NRG Don't Do It!! from Ligonier, PA on December 26th, 2020
Complete and utter scam
Was approached at Best buy, have noticed mtd and month over month utility bill has escalated exponentially shame on a company for taking advantage of people especially during this time in our country. Should be shut down by BBB. They promise to lock you in at a better rate lower than what you are being charged by regular provider, feel like they should be sued for purposely misinforming customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ko12 from Lititz, PA on November 6th, 2020


Electric Plans & Rates


Recommended Plans
All Plans
Fixed Rate
3 Months
6 Months
12 Months
Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Monthly Recurring Charge
The 'Monthly Recurring Charge' is a fee that the provider will add to each of your bills in addition to the electricity/gas usage charges.
6 Month Fixed Rate
6 month
Fixed Rate
8.80¢ / kwh
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
9.70¢ / kwh
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Best 3 Month Plan
3 month
Fixed Rate
5.40¢ / kwh
20.1% under market rate
Compared to the current Penelec rate of 6.7600¢ / kwh
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Monthly Recurring Charge
The 'Monthly Recurring Charge' is a fee that the provider will add to each of your bills in addition to the electricity/gas usage charges.
Best 3 Month Plan
3 month
Fixed Rate
5.40¢ / kwh
20.1% under market rate
Compared to the current Penelec rate of 6.7600¢ / kwh
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Monthly Recurring Charge
The 'Monthly Recurring Charge' is a fee that the provider will add to each of your bills in addition to the electricity/gas usage charges.
6 Month Fixed Rate
6 month
Fixed Rate
8.80¢ / kwh
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Monthly Recurring Charge
The 'Monthly Recurring Charge' is a fee that the provider will add to each of your bills in addition to the electricity/gas usage charges.
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
9.70¢ / kwh
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Monthly Recurring Charge
The 'Monthly Recurring Charge' is a fee that the provider will add to each of your bills in addition to the electricity/gas usage charges.
6 Month Fixed Rate
6 month
Fixed Rate
8.80¢ / kwh
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
9.70¢ / kwh
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Best 3 Month Plan
3 month
Fixed Rate
5.40¢ / kwh
20.1% under market rate
Compared to the current Penelec rate of 6.7600¢ / kwh
$0.00 monthly recurring charge