Spark Energy Logo
EGS# :

We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, NextEra Energy Services Pennsylvania and Frontier Utilities

Disappointed

(1 / 5)

  Tried to pay a friends late bills because he has been in out of the hospital for the last several months. He was late on multiple bills. I was willing to pay all late fees and the reconnect fee. But they had done a "move out" on him and would not allow me to pay the back bills to get his electricity turned back on. He is currently in the hospital and they will not release him without having electricity due to his condition. The collection rep was professional and apologetic but refused to escalate to a manager to see if we could get it resolved.

Their motto "Empower What Matters" must be talking about their rules, not their corporate or community values.

Concerned Friend
March 27th, 2019

We are sorry to hear of your friend's situation. Typically, when an account is closed due to a past due balance, the balance needs to be satisfied and a new enrollment will need to be submitted. If your friend is able to complete this, he can call us or submit the enrollment online. Once the service is back on and if his condition qualifies, we can also assist with ensuring he is put on a priority list in case of outages. If you have any questions or need assistance, please feel free to reach out to us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds April 17th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do Not Switch to Spark Electric or their subsidiary Verde Energy.

(1 / 5)

  Verde Energy, a subsidiary of Spark Electric, has questionable business practices. The marketing company used by Verde (Spark) allows their associates to tell people they are representing PECO. When confronted with the truth the marketers become rude and abusive. I have asked multiple times for them to put me on the Do Not Call list but they continue to call. If I block the phone number, they call from different numbers. I only learned that the company that was calling saying it was PECO was actually Verde Energy when I received a letter from PECO stating that Verde Energy was now our new energy supplier. Do not allow this company to become your energy supplier, just hang-up. Too bad you can't give zero stars.

LB
March 11th, 2019

We are truly concerned about the details of your review and would like advise you to email Verde Energy so they can assist you and address your concerns. You can email them at officeofthepresident@verdeenergy.com. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds March 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy's representives great work

(5 / 5)

  Hi I would like to say that signing up with Spark Energy is definitely saving me some money and the help i received from the representatives was very helpful and efficient I appreciate it when the representatives take time to thuroghly explain to the customer about the services that will be given. Thank You

Great Business
March 5th, 2019

Thank you for your positive review. We are grateful to have wonderful customers like you.

Spark Energy Responds March 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Thorough and Helpful!

(4.2 / 5)

  I just spoke with BB in customer service and she was so helpful. My mother in law passed away recently and I was making sure her account continued to stay paid until the property was sold. BB walked me through all of the areas making sure that everything was updated including e-mail, phone notifications, etc. I probably would not have remembered to update all of the information. It was so helpful for her to prompt me on each of the areas. Thank you BB and thank you Spark Energy!

Sheri
February 25th, 2019

Please accept our condolences on the passing of your mother. We are glad to hear that BB assisted you with ensuring everything is in order as we can understand it is a difficult situation.

Spark Energy Responds March 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy is shady

(1.2 / 5)

  I will not advice anyone to use this company, they are shady. I don't even know how my energy services got changed to them. I live in a two bedroom apartment in Arlington Heights, Illinois and before my energy bill was transferred to them, my average consumption was 699kwh and when they took over it immediately went up to 2155kwh without any change in usage, season or added home equipment. Also, their rate was double from what I was paying before (0.063900) to 0.11870 and so my bill became outrageous. I called them several times but they couldn't explain how they became my supplier or why my consumption suddenly went up. I was happy with my former supplier whose rates were even less than that of ComEd itself. Like I said, I don't know how they were able to remove my former supplier and had their name on my bill.

Remi
February 7th, 2019

We can understand how alarming it is to see a new supplier suddenly appear on your electric bill. Can you please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com so we can review your enrollment details and see how we can assist you? We look forward to assisting you.

Spark Energy Responds March 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Problems Galore from the Beginning

(2.6 / 5)

  We've been with Spark from the beginning and we have had numerous problems. For the first few years it was always administrative related...wrong address, wrong billing amount, etc. Now our problem is our contract expired the end of December and we did not renew on time. So they took our rate from 6.5cents to 16.9cents. When I called to renew for 24 months and complain about the bill, they refused to make a reasonable adjustment. They offered a $75 credit on a $565 bill. We cancelled our service.

Martha Walker
January 24th, 2019

Hello Ms. Walker. We hate that you had a negative experience with Spark Energy. Please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com so we can take a look into your account and see how we can assist you.

Spark Energy Responds January 30th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Final Notice

(1.8 / 5)

  I have North Shore gas who handles the bills and receives payment. Spark sent me a Pink bill that said Final Notice. Interesting since I had no previous "notices" from them. Why are they billing me when North Shore pays them?? the Months of service were not even consecutive March, June , and July ; this meant they got April and May, interesting?? This "Final Bill"" also threatened me with taking their bill to a Collection agency and reporting me to credit bureaus if we didn't pay it to them...remember North shore gas pays them and I pay North Shore. Now who should be taken to the collection agency or credit bureau?

Final Notice
October 11th, 2018

We definitely understand how frustrating it may have been to receive a collections notice regarding your Spark Energy account. We would like to take a look at this for you so we can confirm where the balance comes from. Can you please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com? Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds October 31st, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lost my deposit

(2.6 / 5)

  These guys lost my deposit. I was told there would be a $300 deposit when I signed up so I paid it...A year later I moved and had service disconnected and according yo them I never paif a deposit but electricity was turned on anyway...please. The deposit was payed out of a direct deposit card that doesn't generate statements but I can access activities online. Luckily I still have the account and it shows sparks debit for the deposit but according to spark I must fax a statement.....I guess small claims court iy is.
.

Ronnie Tucker
September 21st, 2018

Hello Mr. Tucker. We apologize for your experience and would like to assist you with your account issues. Can you please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com with your account details so we can review? Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds October 3rd, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disappointed

(1 / 5)

  We've been with Spark for over 11 years.
Definitely a company to be avoided.
We have always renewed our contract on time... until last month. We were 4 days past our contract date when we first made contact with customer service. Our bill was 3X our normal bill.

First off, this was our fault. We recieved an email regarding the upcomming end of contract, and we failed to renew in time. So life happened, and our contract lapsed for 4 days in the 11 years that we've been with Spark. This 4 day lapse cost us over $300!

We called customer sevice multiple times to see if they would be willing to help us out. We were told each time that there was nothing that they would do to retain us as a customer. We have never missed or been late on a bill. We switched providers after 11 years, and they don't care.

Don't waiste your time with this company.
This appears to be a very common story on how Spark treats their customers.

Tiffany
September 10th, 2018

We are sorry to hear that we have lost your business. We have received your other reviews and as mentioned in our responses to the other reviews, we'd like our Office of the President to review your account to see how we can assist; can you please email them at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details and concerns? Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark energy

(5 / 5)

  I have spark energy 6 month ago but now Im ready to contract another 6 month, they have lot of good prices for electricity and good customer service?

Mr singh
July 9th, 2018

Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate your business and hope that you renew your contract with us so we can continue providing you great customer service and low fixed rates.

Spark Energy Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sharp Business Practice

(1.4 / 5)

  Spark had a decent introductory rate - but see that the rates doubled a few months ago. I'm pretty good at record keeping, and would have remarked a doubling of rates if notified. What is the rational for a doubling of rates (to 19.99 cents / kwh- 50% over the basic eversouce rate!) other than to catch sleepy customers (like myself) unaware? If you want to and have the time to go through every bill every month and actively manage your electric bills, then Spark may be fine - if you don't like nasty surprises - avoid them!

Paul D
June 14th, 2018

We are sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience. Typically a notice is sent before a fixed-rate contract expires. We'd definitely like to research to verify if one was sent and provide you additional assistance; can you please email our Office of the President at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details? Thank you for your feedback.

Spark Energy Responds July 5th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They did not inform me they were doubling the costs of the electric

(1 / 5)

  Once I discovered they were doubling the costs, i call them and they refused to lower it so I found another company that was reasonable and signed up with them. When Spark found out that wanted to negotiate with me, I sand, "no". you had your chance your customer service dept. wanted to see who would blink first.

I didn't care, that is not customer service, just like North American Power. We don't blink.

Customer Disservice
May 7th, 2018

We apologize for your experience and that we weren't able to resolve your concerns on the first call. If you'd like to discuss your experience further so we can review your account and ways to improve, please email our Office of the President at oopcx@sparkenergy.com.

Spark Energy Responds May 7th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Should have stayed with Reliant

(1.4 / 5)

  Had spark about 2 months. I'm about a week late on one payment and they disconnected my electricity! This ridiculous s*** never happened with Reliant and I'm definitely switching back. Run far from Spark Energy cause they don't care about you or your family.

Charlette
March 14th, 2018

We are sorry to hear that you are considering switching away from Spark Energy. We'd like to assure you that we do care about our customers and we do provide a disconnection notice with 10 additional days to make a payment after the initial due date. If you were disconnected prior to the disconnection date on the notice, we would definitely like to investigate. Can you please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com? Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds March 28th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disfunctional company

(2.4 / 5)

  Despite agreed upon electricity pricing they charged me more than twice the agreed number. Multiple calls, every time a different person with a different story. Horrible!

Ara pat
January 17th, 2018

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the issues you have encountered. We'd like to review your account to see how we can improve. Can you please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account information and more details?

Spark Energy Responds January 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Electric supplier

(4 / 5)

  I went on line to find another delivery company for my electricity. Sparks was the cheapest so I enrolled for 6 months. Its ridiculous that my electrical use is cheaper than my delivery charge

Sharon Gazdzicki
December 15th, 2017

We are happy to hear that you found our rates to be the lowest. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to servicing your electric needs.

Spark Energy Responds December 20th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easy to lower mmy rate

(5 / 5)

  Switching to a lower rate was easy.

switching to a lower rate is easy
December 12th, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that your switch was easy and hope that our low rates will keep you as a satisfied customer for years to come.

Spark Energy Responds December 20th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Over charged

(1 / 5)

  I made the wrong decision to use Spark Energy as my energy provider. This company had charged me in the term of two months the total of two one year or more. They did not send me a renewal agreement and just triple the rate in the plan. Then I tried to call them and find out why of the charge and they gave me a non-sense answer. In one month my bill went from $45.00 to $885.97, so please be careful with what energy provider you pick. This company its obviously not honest and just after stealing from its clients.

Over price-stealing to it's customer be aware of this company when looking for supplier.
October 10th, 2017

Good Afternoon, First, we would like to sincerely apologize for the delay in response to your review. Second, we would like the opportunity to review your account to investigate what transpired and follow up with you accordingly. Would you be able to email us directly at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com so that we can review your account? We sincerely hope to hear from you soon.

Spark Energy Responds November 8th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HUGE SCAM RUN DON'T WALK AWAY FROM SPARK

(1 / 5)

  I made the foolish mistake of answering a phone call from this company, they promised me a lower rate so I said ok and gave all my info. Fast forward one month and I don't get my normal bill of $150, I get a bill of $450. Immediately called my former provider here in pennsylvania PP&L. They looked into my bill and said I was given the low rate fir one day then SPARK tripled my rate. I immediately went back with PP&L and everything is getting back to normal.

Dee
October 6th, 2017

Good Afternoon Dee, Thank you for your review. We are so sorry it has taken us so long to reply. What you have described regarding your billing concerns is definitely alarming and we would like the opportunity to further investigate. Would you please email us directly at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com so that we can review your account? Thank you so much.

Spark Energy Responds November 8th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark energy rips off customers

(1 / 5)

  I've been a customer of Spark Energy for 4 years. This kind of bad experience happened to me twice. Spark Energy automatically switched my plan to the most expensive one at the end of my long-term contract and charged me more than $800 in the last three months.

Recommend everyone to avoid this greedy company.

Xiaomin
August 27th, 2017

Good Afternoon Xiaomin, Thank you for your review as well as your long-standing loyalty with Spark Energy. I would like to apologize for the delay in response to your review. Would you be able to email us directly at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com with your account details so that we can investigate what took place in your account? We would like to follow up with you. Thank you so much.

Spark Energy Responds November 8th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BEWARE... AVOID THIS COMPANY

(1 / 5)

  Spark Energy has done everything in their power to price gouge me for the final month of billing. They charged me 3 times the amount I was previously paying. AND charged me MORE "fees" AFTER they had already agreed to a payment plan for their $562 dollar final bill. I cannot express enough how unethical this company is. Please read the reviews, be aware! This company is the worst company I have ever encountered.

Beware! Read the reviews! Educate yourselves!
April 18th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions