Reviews for American Power & Gas

The best review categories for American Power & Gas are their customer service, with an average of 3.5 stars, and their plans and pricing, with an average of 3.4 stars.


Recent Good Review from Denise Bell

Good customer service
We called because bill was very high she got us a rebate and informed us on how to get a better rate was very helpful!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Denise Bell from Williamsport, PA on February 11th, 2022


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

6 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Good customer service
We called because bill was very high she got us a rebate and informed us on how to get a better rate was very helpful!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Denise Bell from Williamsport, PA on February 11th, 2022
Totally Unexpected
Had an unusually high gas and electric bill from American Power & Gas and called customer service. Never expected my call to be answered so promptly by such a skilled and professional representative. Amy Duke was personal, knowledgeable with rates, both current and past. She spent time with me and corrected my problem, more than I ever expected. Amy was easy to speak with and understood everything I was calling about. She confirmed our conversation so we were on the same page and sent me a confirmation email. I hope to continue with her on my next call at American Power & Gas. It is very rare that people enjoy and are proud of their jobs these days and it is clear Amy does. Thank you for great service and a resolution that works for us both!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Satisfaction! from Morrisville, PA on November 9th, 2021
Amazing experience
Everything was pretty much straightforward, the lady on the phone was super helpful and very patient.
I appreciate companies that care about their customers, so, American Power & Gas, thank you!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gina from Indiana, PA on November 6th, 2021
Amazing
The sign-up was super simple process. Just few details and account was setup. Customer care was courteous and took time to answer all my questions.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sophia from 32008 on June 17th, 2021
Customer Service
When I call in and speak to Robyn Gregory she is very helpful and knowledgeable about the rates I receive on my bill and any customer service I may need.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sparisi from Ambridge, PA on May 25th, 2021
Love the people!
I have really enjoyed my experience with this company. Love that it's 100% green electric and all the charity work they do.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anna from Ambridge, PA on June 4th, 2020



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Billing and account management
My monthly bill is always on time.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Beryl McMillan from on September 9th, 2021
Way More then just a variable rate, great service!
My sales call was a bit fast and I did have multiple calls, but I am not sure what people are complaining about.. I have had several companies with variable rates, and they are all the same, the rate you were offered the first month and then the rate goes up to a retail rate. I called the customer service, who answered my call immediately, transferred me to a specialist who offered several different products and gave me a direct number to call in the future, if I ever needed any help, they were honest and treated me very respectfully. Other companies have outright lied to me. I love that my energy is clean, I get a small annual rebate, and anytime I find my rates are not competative, I call and it is immediately resolved. No large cancellation fees and I really like my direct agent. I will not be leaving this company anytime soon. Maybe some of these reviews are completed by aggressive sales people, who in fact emailed me this link in hopes to get me to leave American Power and Gas, but instead I felt compelled to write this comment.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sally from Lyon Station, PA on June 4th, 2020



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

7 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Harder to get rid of than Covid
I have multiple accounts and they talked my wife into signing up, no cancellation fee, no sign up fee just great savings. Yeah, for the first month, then their rates go way up. Call them to cancel (If you can get through) and they give you a lower rate for a month, then right back up. I cancelled 2 months ago on one of my accounts, and they promised it would have to go through on billing cycle to get cancelled. Here I am on the second cycle and still being charged their rate. I tried calling for days, and they said leave a message and they would call back. Never called back. Last time I called their mailbox was full and I couldn't leave a message. Finally, yesterday, my wife called PPL told them the story and they said it would take 3 days to cancel. I called today and wonder of wonders, I got someone. They told me they could lower my rate, and I said NO. I want out. Again, "It will take a cycle for it to be cancelled" If not cancelled the BBB will be hearing from me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dave Hirst from Christiana, PA on February 9th, 2022
This is Criminal
What this company is doing is criminal. Rising the price out of nowhere to from 7c to 12c with out notice or concern for their costumers, This should not be allowed. my bill when from 150 to 500 overnight. All they are doing is tricking people into their contracts hopping they forget and once they do they slap you with a terrible price. I thought I could trust this company. Same on me. currently I owe $56 dollars for six day of service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Erick from Allentown, PA on August 2nd, 2021
RIP off !!!
They called me. I said no. They switched me anyway. Charged me twice the rate as ppl, and now i can't get anyone to answer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ray from Elizabethville, PA on June 29th, 2020
Won't take no for an answer please complain to PUC
They keep calling every week or two. we go through the same thing about i have no interest in this company and am not going to switch to them and ask them to take me off the calling list. which after you get angry they agree to not call anymore. a week or two later another idiot from this company calls again. and the circus starts all over again. its plain harassment. so everyone who reads these reviews please make a complaint to the PUC so we can get these people to stop calling us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Complaint To PUC from Denver, PA on April 24th, 2020
Don't beleiv them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The first month is under what you would pay another company or what you are paying now. Next month it jumps up double.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Laird Morgan from Hershey, PA on November 13th, 2019
Immediate rate increases after first month
I can't recommend strongly enough against this company. Their pitch is a 25% annual rebate on your average monthly bill - that's really a 2% annual rebate, about the same as the reward points on a credit card. They also say it is a variable rate and you can cancel anytime without penalty. Both of those are true. The catch is that the initial rate they quote is slightly below the rate to compare. Then the next month they immediately jack up the rate to close to double and in some cases more than double the rate to compare. On the last bill at two of our facilities, the price to compare was $0.067/KWH; the rate AP&G charged was $0.150722/KWH - 2.26 times the rate to compare. We have over a dozen facilities that we switched to AP&G, which are serviced by several different electric distribution companies, and this happened to all of them. The problem is that you can't change back to your previous generation supplier fast enough. By the time you look at the bill and realize what they did to the rate, you owe that rate for those 30 days and you likely do not have enough time to switch suppliers before the next meter reading, so you will owe their rates for the current 30 days. And since some (but not all) electric companies only switch suppliers on meter reading days so they don't have to do a special reading mid-month, you will likely owe AP&G's exorbitant rates for 30 more days. That was our experience. I have no doubt that AP&G's strategy is to make as much as they can in a 90 day period and hope that people aren't paying close attention and they can continue to get away with it for longer. In the era of deregulation - LET THE BUYER BEWARE!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JS - Facility Manager from Exton, PA on January 10th, 2019
Avoid - they will increase the price after one month
I switched to American Power & Gas because because they had a low variable rate and no cancellation fee. When I signed up I asked if the rate would stay around the current level and was told that it would - that the rate I got was not a teaser rate. However, I only got the low rate for one month. The second month the rate was increased by 70% and the third month was almost double the first month. I switched from AP & G after receiving my second month bill, but I had to pay for part of the third month while the switch was being processed.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John from Pittsburgh, PA on October 21st, 2018