Customer Reviews for NRG Home

People have been reviewing NRG Home on PA Energy Ratings, giving you an understanding of being NRG Home's customer is like.

Additionally, we combine customer ratings with an array of other variables to develop a more comprehensive rating. Read PA Energy Ratings analasys of NRG Home.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

NRG Home's Customer Reviews Summary

NRG Home Scores and Ratings:

PA Energy Ratings Overall Score for NRG Home

2.4 / 5

NRG Home Reviews

251 Reviews for NRG Home

251

total reviews

Want to order NRG Home?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for NRG Home?

Recent Good Review from Nannyg

Overall Rating
No complaints
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have only positive thoughts so far for this company!!

Eileen from Center Valley, PA on January 30th, 2022
Overall Rating
R
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Great

Nicholas from Brackney, PA on January 24th, 2022
Overall Rating
Great energy supplier
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Like the weekly energy usage chart.

Glen from Ephrata, PA on December 29th, 2021
Overall Rating
NRG is a Plus
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I switched to get my electric costs reduced, they had a great plan, and service. I like the weekly summary review of energy use -- very user friendly.

LMM from Northampton, PA on December 21st, 2021
Overall Rating
Valued Customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I like the 3 month pricing plans. This is the second time I am using their service. I enjoy the competitive rates cause I have an all electric house.

Soccrpav from Pittsburgh, PA on August 7th, 2021
Overall Rating
Awesome Experience!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I tried it in a Sams called back in 3 months 3years later im saving money and getting checks

Rick Waters from Coraopolis, PA on December 29th, 2020
Overall Rating
People wake up
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Im Not in NRG but soon will be .. you people ALL of you who wrote a negative reply about NRG you need to understand that its not there fault as Humans beings we are all looking for that "DEAL" but how long do you really think its going to last yes they give you treats to join but they also mention that its INTRODUCTORY offer meaning its going to change and the funny part its right there in-front of you but like ALL humans Me included we dont read the fine print .. it clearly tells you that after the introductory offer that if you do not reply back your rate will go to a Variable until at which point you decide to reup with the Utility, People its YOUR RESPONSIBILITY to read your mail not NRGs so stop your bitchin and start reading enough said

Scott from Easton, PA on May 24th, 2019
Overall Rating
Satisfied
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I love the service n savings

Jim Patterson from Altoona, PA on January 13th, 2022
Overall Rating
Good Customer Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had a good experience with signing up with NRG

TITAN 61 from Corry, PA on January 3rd, 2022
Overall Rating
None
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Satisfied

Client from Milford, PA on December 20th, 2021
Overall Rating
Electric
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Good communication

Mary Ann from Mechanicsburg, PA on December 11th, 2021
Overall Rating
Read the fine print
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Great so far, make sure you call a month after you sign up to ensure you'll retain promotional pricing. They'll also extend it another 3 months if you ask.

Ty from Pittsburgh, PA on September 20th, 2021
Overall Rating
Responsible/Expensive Company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Great company, knowledgeable employees, only problem once u've used your fixed contract they get expensive from their on. They have good promo's, and now fair teaser rates, they used to be better. Highly responsible company so if rates are not the issue I highly recommend.

Very Good Company from Mc Elhattan, PA on May 19th, 2019
Overall Rating
Great Customer Service had good promo
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

12 months is the best experience for staying competitive. Only downfall, I wanted to stay with them but staying competitive is not there strong suit.

Dkc from Mc Elhattan, PA on June 20th, 2018
Overall Rating
First month with NRG.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Good prices.

Nannyg from Allentown, PA on February 5th, 2022
Overall Rating
So far so good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Im a new NRG Home customer and so far so good! Hope to continue as a customer if pricing is better then others and customer service continues to be accommodating.

REW from Aliquippa, PA on January 16th, 2022
Overall Rating
Shop around
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Had NRG after a bad experience with other supplier that almost doubled my rate after it expired. And paid high amount for 3 months not paying attention


NRG would have kept bus but price went from 6.7 to 7.6, therefore I called Frintier and now I'm paying less than I am now. Easy over the phone sign up
Ther

Joseph Moffitt from Allentown, PA on November 2nd, 2020
Overall Rating
NRG Manager here to clarify
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rates are adjusted QUARTERLY to undercut the distributor and that is why our plans are 3 months long. March, June, September, and December are the months to call and check in. A good rep will explain that to you multiple times before the end of the signup, but if they did not it is also in writing on the email confirmation, cancellation form, and welcome letter you will receive. What some folks fail to understand is that we cannot possibly remember every face nor force people to pick up the phone or stop in for the 3 minutes it takes to renew your account and always make sure youre saving a few bucks. YOU MUST EITHER CALL TO RENEW OR TO CANCEL TO AVOID THE VARIABLE RATES. I try my absolute best to inform people to the best of my abilities but I can't speak on anyone else's behalf. I wish things were a little clearer and that folks were trained better, but unfortunately that is over my head and I did feel compelled to write this to clarify that it is the customer's responsibility to maintain their account. We have hundreds of thousands of customers, reminder emails get lost and we cannot possibly remember every face, so please put your dates on your calendars.



We are a good company that does a ton of charity work, employ thousands of Americans, and are working on better technology to generate cleaner energy for our future generations.

I hope this helps.

Anonymous NRG Manager from Lansdale, PA on September 13th, 2019
Overall Rating
Price doubled!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dont forget to renew!! Price went from 8¢ to 17¢! Make sure you document your renewal date or youll be in for sticker shock!!

Paujos from Kunkletown, PA on September 24th, 2023
Overall Rating
Craptastic
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Got bill sent check. Got letter and check that their equipment couldnt read my pen. Really no way to handle that? No direction on what to do? I called got answering machi e that cant understand english. Got offer to be called back and after many requirements still didnt call ne back. Worst experience ever. Id rather deal with Comcast than this compant

David from Cherry Tree, PA on January 13th, 2022
Overall Rating
Not enough time
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Not enough time to accurately be able to assess

Krissy from Mohrsville, PA on September 18th, 2021
Overall Rating
Rates get ridiculously high quickly
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Signed up and rep was nice, customer service is nice but if you are in a variable rate agreement you better check your rates closely. Got the rate I signed up for 2 months and then it went up 23% in month 3 and another 16% in month 4....really!!!!! I beleive this company just takes advance of people. Still with the utility providers, at least they have to justify their rates with the public utility commission!

C-Real from Pittsburgh, PA on January 11th, 2019
Overall Rating
What a rip off
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ive been a customer since early 2021, lately Ive noticed how high my gas and electric bill has been so I had my bill audited. Came to find out that NRG is charging me way more than my normal suppliers (PGW & PECO). Im a senior and still working full time Im appalled! I really got roped in to that sales pitch and Im in sales BEWARE

Vanessa from Jenkintown, PA on February 1st, 2024
Overall Rating
Rebate's Read the fine print
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I bought a refrigerator from lowes and NRG offered a rebate threw Lowes for $150 gift card. I signed up with NRG and after I fulfilled the contract and asked where the gift card was NRG informed me in the 3 pages of fine print that you need to be an attorney to read it says if you ever received a promotion from them b4 you will not receive the gift card. This tells me they have to fool people into there service. NRG should be ashamed of themselves. I will spend every day telling people of this scam called NRG.

Chris Kuntz II from Slatington, PA on January 31st, 2024
Overall Rating
NRG rates went up from 38¢ to 92¢ at the end of three month contract
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Singed up at Walmart NRG service for a three-month contract. Since I had paperless billing and auto-pay, didn't pay much attention to the billing details. Due to the onset of Winter, thought that the high billing was due to the high usage of gas heating.


But when I checked the billing statements for the last few months, realized they have increased the gas rates from 38¢ to 92¢ as I didn't renew the contract. I was royally screwed on an average of $125 per month.
When I called customer service, they tried to give me a credit of $30. Even if I want to renew the contract, the new offered price of 38¢ won't be effective until 1-2 billing cycles which is ridiculous. So they want me to spend another $250 more when compared to PECO. If I want to cancel the service, again the same story - 1-2 billing cycles.
So don't fall for the NRG reps trying to lure you to sign up. STAY away from NRG.

DontSignupWithNRG from West Chester, PA on January 29th, 2024
Overall Rating
Save money and don't sign with NRG
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was charged my monthly payment as always through my local company on top of what NRG supplied. So my bill is $102 more this month. I cancelled with them as soon as I saw my bill. Don't be scammed by their reps on saving money!!! That's their job!!!! I should've walked way when I was approached in Wal-mart. Save money and just stick with your basic supplier!! Lesson learned!!!

Michael from Connellsville, PA on January 17th, 2024
Overall Rating
Do not use, will cost you double, stick to West Penn
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Good promo short term, but you costs will nearly double.

J from Natrona Heights, PA on November 18th, 2023
Overall Rating
Most awful experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This "supplier" company will sign you up with "verbal" approval, meaning that an associate that talks to you in a store can say that you verbally agreed to their terms when you actually did not. This company has been charging me 3x the amount I should be for 3 years. Yes, 3 years. I've lost thousands of dollars to this scam company at a time when money was scarce. DO NOT EVEN TALK TO AN NRG ASSOCIATE if they approach you. PLEASE.

Sara H. from Lenhartsville, PA on September 19th, 2023
Overall Rating
Terrible Company- Stay Away!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Horrible experience- do not let the contract expire. The new rates are more than double!! Price gouging scan-stay away!!!

PA Resident from Easton, PA on August 6th, 2023
Overall Rating
When the plan ends - prepare for a price-gouging ripoff!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

In PA and signed up for a 12 month plan at a decent rate, however, when the plan ended, the rate went up 160% - which is significantly higher than PPL's base rate!! They mentioned they sent a letter, however I did not see anything except wording that even without a contract, the rate would be competitive! Maybe if I lived in a remote part of Alaska and wanted to save a few cents from running a gas powered generator!! This company is not worth investing in unless you watch them with a microscope. Horrible experience and will never go back!!

Not A Happy Customer from Easton, PA on August 5th, 2023
Overall Rating
Fraudulent practices
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I received a letter today 8/3/2023 that my electric supplier is being switched over to NRG effective 8/3/2023, i did not authorize this switch as i am the account holder and pay the monthly electric bill. They tricked my daughter into giving her address and then tried to switch without my knowledge for authorization. They should be fined for fraudulent activities

B Wilson from Duncannon, PA on August 3rd, 2023
Overall Rating
Thieves.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charged me 17.6 kWh and tried justifying it. They are the worst and take advantage of people. Beware!

Josh from Telford, PA on July 31st, 2023

Compare NRG Home to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
MRC
The 'MRC' or 'Monthly Recurring Charge' is a fee that the provider will add to each of your bills in addition to the electricity/gas usage charges.
Type
Clean Power 12
8.19¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
12-Month Electric Choice Plan
9.00¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
TrueSimple 24
9.83¢
$1.99 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
TrueSimple 12
8.88¢
$1.99 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
TrueSimple 6
8.66¢
$1.99 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability