Recent Complaints and Negative Reviews (579 reviews)



They call me EVERY day

(2 / 5)

  I get a call every day from a telemarketing company asking me to switch to Great American Power. They call so often that I actually recognize them by name. But it seems that they do not care that I asked them to stop calling. I even called Great American Power's customer service department to have my number removed from their telemarking list. But I continue to get the calls. Every time they call, I hate Great American Power even more. If you are reading these reviews Great American Power, please tell your telemarketing company to stop calling the same number every day. What a waste of time.

Exasperated in Pittsburgh
April 23rd, 2021



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Confusing Cancellation

(2 / 5)

  I have been with Ambit Energy since 2017 and the bill has been inconsistent, I'm hardly ever home...I unplug things and rarely run my ac/heat. I transferred their services from one apartment to another apartment complex not far from each other and was hit with a cancellation fee and stated that I switched to another provider!!!!! I didn't BTW! I just transferred the lights! There's now an investigation. I've only been in the apartment for one month , today. I cannot pay a $200.00 bill. I'm rarely home due to working days through 7 p.m. and most weekends I'm out of town. Oh! And now AE is saying that I no longer have an account with them!!!! HUH! I have lights btw as well...apparently another provider has taken over, but neither I nor AE know who? So Over IT!

Frustrated Customer
March 22nd, 2021



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Customer "NO" Service

(2 / 5)

  Okay, well, you JUST LOST A CUSTOMER. Thanks for showing your TRUE colors in this time when you could have been much more supportive.

Apparently, your last communication that said, "We are working with your utility company to get actual usage for these days, which means the actual usage would be zero during the times your power was out. If applicable, you will see adjustments in the coming days," was just trying to placate a customer. And even though you claim that the price per kwh did not increase with the exorbitant rates of ERCOT, you figured out a way to make up that money. Very creative.

I STILL DID NOT HAVE ELECTRICITY for 3 days in which YOU claim I used about 277 kWh of electricity. So GOOD JOB.

You know, I wasn't asking for the whole bill to be reassessed and CORRECTED. Just the days that I KNOW I had no electricity usage. Shame on you. I understand everything you said about increased usage during colder weather. That all makes sense. What makes NO SENSE is that you can't even admit the estimation, or worse, the falsification of the energy usage during the days when there was no power. How ludicrous!
I realize YOU hold all the leverage: if I don't pay the falsified bill, you will suspend my service and report it to the credit bureaus.
But I can do some things.
I will be very aggressive in letting everyone I know that this company falsifies meter readings and is REALLY NOT THAT INTERESTED in customer service.
I will contact Sam's Club home office to let them know my dissatisfaction with this company that they supported. Hopefully, they will see you for what you are.
I will also post reviews EVERYWHERE possible to alert others about your refusal to even admit that you do what you do.

I Was Fooled
March 12th, 2021

Hi, thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear you have concerns regarding the usage being provided on your bill and would like to have the opportunity to correct any issues. To access your account and allow us to look into a resolution please call us at 1-866-587-8674. We would love to resolve this matter for you as soon as possible.

Regards,
Alicia, Social Media Advisor

Responds March 12th, 2021

That's all been done already.

I Was Fooled Replies March 12th, 2021


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Highway robbery

(2 / 5)

  Get you in the door with a low price. Not once did they say i would be charged 5.95 a month plus over .11 cents a kwh double of penelec. absolutely ridiculous.having a hard time canceling so I'm going to sign up with another company and they will automatically cancel for me. Never again. STAY AWAY IF YOU VALUE YOUR MONEY

Jay
February 28th, 2021

Good afternoon Jay. We are saddened to hear that your experience was anything less than exceptional. In an effort to prevent our customers from defaulting to a month-to-month market variable, multiple expiration notices are sent before contract expiration. Our goal is to provide and keep all of our customers on competitive fixed-rate plans. We would like to further review your account and investigate what took place. Please contact us at customercare@cleanskyenergy.com with your account information. We look forward to helping you resolve this. Have an awesome Monday!

Responds March 1st, 2021


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

First year cheaper, second year wow

(2 / 5)

  The fee for this third party provider is double my actual gas bill from PSEG. Was never paying more than 80 per month before switching to them, and wasnt for the first year. Second year? The charge for using them was 80 dollars and my actual energy use was 40. Huge mistake switching to them. Ive promptly switched back.

Patrick
February 27th, 2021

Hi Patrick. We are truly sad to know you're thinking of leaving us. You are a really important part of our family and we would totally appreciate the opportunity to take a closer look at your account and set the best deal for you. You can connect with our Facebook or Twitter team, or you can contact us by phone or through our Live Chat department, we will do our best to serve you the way you deserve. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind regards! - Sophie / Digital Care

Responds March 18th, 2021


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The Worst

(2 / 5)

  The plan price seemed okay so I went with them but gosh, the worst customer service and bill delivery system. My bill was always late, missing or non existent. Their agents are uninformed and basically just unequipped to do anything, they will not work with any situation, not even in the middle of a pandemic, for a healthcare worker with covid positive residents in the house after they failed to send the bill. The worst choice I ever made.

DW
February 9th, 2021



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

AEP Needs an Overhaul

(2 / 5)

  We have been in Athens, OH for 2 years now. It feels like we are living in a developing country where there are regular power outages. So far we have had over 4-5 power outages, with one of the outages for over 24 hours in freezing winter weather. Their prices are ridiculously high. We were paying $178/month, and all at once we went up to $360/month and it is not because of wattage usage but because of services in our area. Do not recommend AEP at all.

Steve M
February 5th, 2021



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions