Customer Reviews for Direct Energy

People have been reviewing Direct Energy on PA Energy Ratings, giving you an understanding of being Direct Energy's customer is like.

Additionally, we combine customer ratings with an array of other variables to develop a more comprehensive rating. Read PA Energy Ratings analasys of Direct Energy.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

Direct Energy's Customer Reviews Summary

Direct Energy Scores and Ratings:

PA Energy Ratings Overall Score for Direct Energy

2.5 / 5

Direct Energy Reviews

628 Reviews for Direct Energy

628

total reviews

Want to order Direct Energy?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for Direct Energy?

Recent Good Review from Review of stupidity

Overall Rating
This is really stupid
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I signed up for Direct Energy. I got Direct Energy. It works. Why are you asking for a review of something that involves NOTHING?

Review Of Stupidity from Plymouth Meeting, PA on March 7th, 2024
We're pleased to hear that you're enjoying Direct Energy. Thanks so much for leaving us a review and sharing your experience.
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Non-interaction
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

What do you expect from non-interacting bodies? You sign up. It works. END of story.

H Woodcock from Plymouth Meeting, PA on February 26th, 2024
Thank you for the great feedback. We'll continue to do our best to provide reliable and affordable service. We're always here if you need us.
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Saving with Direct Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Our bill dropped considerbly, despite the holiday lights and baking.

Bonnie Leathers from Bellefonte, PA on January 11th, 2024
Thanks Bonnie! We're glad that you're enjoying your experience with Direct Energy. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with others.
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Very pleased
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Switching to Direct Energy has saved us a great deal of money.

Rjrmd from Lebanon, PA on May 22nd, 2023
Hello Rjrmd. We are so happy for the opportunity you have given us to power your home! Thank you so much for choosing Direct Energy as your trusted electricity provider, and for sharing with us this amazing comment! Your preference is a gift to us and we value it immensely, our commitment is to continue growing and being better day by day to always offer you the best attention and care, because you only deserve the best! Have a beautiful start to the week! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Super
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very satisfied with supplier

Art from Mechanicsburg, PA on February 10th, 2020
This is excellent news, Art! Our primary goals always include responding efficiently, providing outstanding customer care, and ensuring our customers have a re-established peace of mind that comes with having a trusted energy company working with them. We are glad this has been the case for you as well! Best wishes to you and your family. Stay safe and stay healthy. - Megan / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Energy Shoppers Review
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I Received my renewal notice, and compared prices, only to find Direct energy was more than some others for the same one year, no fee,no cancellation charge,plan. Based on that I checked with them and found that was the best they could do, but I was offered a $100.00 gift card, which made up the difference. That sweetener, sealed the deal, for me.

Paul Myers from on December 9th, 2019
Thank you for opting to stay with us! We are pleased to have earned your trust, and we look forward to having you as our customer for may years to come. Have a wonderful day!
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Excellent Customer Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I did a live chat to check on rates to renew my plan and was very pleased with the service I received. Assisted me with a great rate. I did not want to switch plans because of the reliability and assistance I have always received.

Cheryl from Richland, PA on October 24th, 2019
We are so thrilled that you had a smooth renewal experience! Thank you for sharing in this review, and have a wonderful holiday season!
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Direct Energy rating
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Easy to sign up.

Direct Energy Review from Albrightsville, PA on October 10th, 2019
Excellent, thank you for sharing your experience! We look forward to providing you with outstanding service for many years to come. Have a wonderful day!
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Satisfied Customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Direct Energy had the best price for my needs and they provided all they promised.

Rosiern from 17523 on September 25th, 2019
Thank you for sharing this review based on your personal experience, Rosie! This is exactly what we strive to achieve for each and every one of our customers, so we love to see the affirmation. We thank you, and wish you a wonderful weekend!
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Reputable
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Never a problem. Real deal. No scams!

Janet Koch from Danville, PA on March 24th, 2019
Hi Janet,

We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide an exceptional rating based on your experience with us. We are working diligently to improve processes within our company to ensure that we have consistently great customer satisfaction. Please feel free to reach out to one of our live chat agents on our website or by phone with your full contact information should you ever need our assistance. Thank you again and have an amazing day!

-Marie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Direct energy delivers what it promises
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My prior energy provider offered a "come on" value for switching to them. They had a bonus plus low rates. What I was not notified of was that after three months the rate escalated dramatically. It was a "fixed" rate but after the into period it fixed at more than twice the original. I, unfortunately, did not catch this for several months thru the summer. When I did catch it there was no mercy from their customer service people so I found Direct Energy and they are living up to their agreement

Barry from Hummelstown, PA on December 9th, 2023
Thanks Barry! We're glad that you're enjoying your experience with Direct Energy. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with others.
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Need to switch
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Quick response time and easy to use web page.

Dave W. from Bloomsburg, PA on April 24th, 2023
Hi Dave. Thank you very much for this amazing comment! We are honored to have you as a part of our fabulous family, and we love to energize your home! We will continue getting better at what we do, to always exceed your expectations and treat you the way you deserve! Have a beautiful day! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Review of Direct Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

It was simple and easy. Look for best price with average contract length and no penalties for early discontinue.

Review Of Direct Energy from Youngwood, PA on September 29th, 2020
Hi there! Thank you so much for this awesome review! Direct Energy is proud to offer our customers some of the most competitive rates that can be found anywhere, along with many incentives, promotions and a world class customer experience. We are thrilled to have you as a part of our big family and we appreciate your trust and loyalty! Have a beautiful day! - Sophie / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Excellent customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tamra was our customer account representative. She was beyond helpful in such a professional and kind way.

Bills Sandwich Shop from New Castle, PA on March 20th, 2020
We appreciate you for letting us know of this positive experience with Tamra! This is great news and we will be sure to pass this feedback along to the appropriate team for recognition. Thank you for being a Direct Energy customer! Have a great week and stay safe out there. - Megan / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Get smart.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very good for 2 yrs. now what for next 2 yrs?

George Wagner from Carlisle, PA on December 31st, 2019
Hi George, and thank you for the awesome star-ratings! If your initial 2 year agreement is coming to an end, please keep any eye out for your renewal information. It should be on the one of the last pages contained in your monthly billing statement approximately 2 statements prior to expiration. This will let you know what renewal options and promotions are available for you, and advise on how to accept a renewal offer. Please make sure to have this completed by the actual contract end date; if a renewal option is not selected, the account will roll into a month to month, variable rate plan. You may accept a renewal by contacting us using any of the methods listed here: https://www.hwahomewarranty.com/contact-us. Thank you, George, and have a wonderful week!
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Natural gas
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This company has the best price and is easy to sign with no early termination fee

Mike from Coplay, PA on November 18th, 2019
Thank you for the kind words, Mike! We are so pleased to know you are happy with the price and the plan that you have. Enjoy your holiday!
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
DE
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

It looks like a nice service and distribution.

DE from Pittsburgh, PA on August 13th, 2019
Thanks, DE! We appreciate the support!
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Generation only.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Never any problems.

Good Supplier & Prices Repeat Customer. from Enola, PA on December 27th, 2018
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Hope you have an amazing day. Allie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Great rates
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I needed to shop for electric and found Direct Energy online. After reading about your company, and having positive results, I decided to sign up.

Mary Beth Hooper from Camp Hill, PA on November 3rd, 2018
We appreciate you taking time out of your day to leave us a review. Have a great week! - Allie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
"Getting to know you!"
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Being new with Direct Energy I need a little more time to experience. So far I am very pleased with the price and that means a lot to me. Using Direct Energy for both Gas and Electric, is allowing me to stay in my home. When you are on a fixed income, this is monumental. Thank you, Direct Energy.

Betty J. Morgan from Washington, PA on December 20th, 2017
Thanks for the wonderful feedback, Betty. We are so glad you decided to go with us as your supplier. Have a fantastic day! - Cole
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Good rates
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Easy enough to order. Rates are good.

Jace from Glen Mills, PA on May 29th, 2023
Hi Jace. Thank you for sharing this awesome comment with us. It's great to know you're satisfied with our rates and the services we gladly offer you we will continue giving you the best of us and working hard to always provide you with the best electrical services on the market! If there's any future assistance needed, please feel free to get in contact with us by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, or you can also chat with us at http://ms.spr.ly/DESocial1, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are central, we wil be more than glad to take good care of you! Have a beautiful week ahead! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Promo
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Was supposed to get a gift card for a review and NEVER got the gift card.

Gift Card from Canonsburg, PA on February 29th, 2020
Hi Jeff! We are so sorry for this delay in delivery. We can absolutely follow-up on this missing giftcard. Please reach out to our Digital Care team through the avenue of your choice to proceed forward with assistance:

Live Chat: https://www.directenergy.com/
Social Media: https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/

We are looking forward to providing you a quick resolution to this matter! Thank you for your time. - Megan / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Renewing Contract
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have tried to contact Direct Energy for 2 days to renew contract. It appears that the low rate is only available to new customers. I have been with them for 5 yrs and went online to do a Chat but each time I am told 6 people in the Que. I wait until it gets down to 1 and then a message comes up that no agents available. I get out and go right back in and 6 in Que again. Last year when contract was up the price to renew went up. This year it looks like quite a bit. It appears that they get you in and then continue to raise the price.

Milo from Mechanicsburg, PA on January 24th, 2019
Hi Milo! All customers who sign up with us will receive a new customer promotions, similar to your initial experience. Once that promotional offer ends we will offer renewal options and plans that can allow you to still maintain a reduced bill. If you would like us to look into your offers please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account details. - Allie
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
DO NOT USE Harassing phone calls
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My contract was up with direct energy and I decided not to renew. They have been calling me non stop for two months. I block the number and they call from another number. I cannot get them to stop calling.

Annoyed In PA from Norristown, PA on May 12th, 2023
Hi Annoyed In PA, thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. This isn't the experience we want our customers to have, and we would like to resolve the issue. Please don't hesitate to reach us by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, or you can also chat with us at http://ms.spr.ly/DESocial1 and we will be thrilled to further assist you. All the best! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
$99 cancellation fee voided
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My recent experience with Direct Energy was not exactly pleasant. My bill was very high, I cancelled the service and went back to MetEd with lower rates. However Direct Energy charged me a $99 cancellation fee after only a little over 1 month service.


I responded to their email to rate their service and explained how upset I was to be charged the cancellation fee as the representative had told me it was not usually enforced.
I have just received another email from Direct Energy stating the are voiding the fee for me. I greatly appreciate this since I am on a limited income. Thank you so much for this!!!!

Janet J from Lebanon, PA on August 15th, 2017
Sorry to hear of the experience you had originally. We are glad to hear that an agent was able to assist you with removing the fee. Please feel free to reach out if you have any unresolved concerns at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. Thank you,- Cole
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Dont use these guys
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I signed up for Direct Energy online and called to confirm the rate. My account at my distribution company was changed in 4 days. When I received the Direct Energy confirmation in the mail my rate was 1 cent higher. I called and immediately cancelled the Direct Energy plan. They were my supplier for 4 days. I immediately got a new generator and it took my distribution company a week to add the new company. Dont trust them, they lie about their rates.

Danno from Tamaqua, PA on May 22nd, 2023
Good afternoon, Danno. We are truly sorry for the bad experience you have had regarding the rate plan, and we are so sad to know we have lost you as a part of our family. If there's any future assistance you may need, please feel free to get in contact with us by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, or you can also chat with us at http://ms.spr.ly/DESocial1, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are central, we will be more than glad to help you out. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Have a beautiful day! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Bait and Switch
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I switched to Direct Energy in January of 2022. The original offer had no cancellation fees. Low and behold, after using Direct Energy for a few months and getting billed from Direct Energy and from my Electric supplier, I decided to switch companies. Low and behold, hidden on the e-contract, there was a cancellation fee blurb that I did not catch.

False Claims from Exton, PA on April 11th, 2023
Good afternoon. We sincerely regret the bad experience you have had regarding your contract and the cancellation fee. You are very important to us, and we would love it if you could give us the opportunity to investigate this situation thoroughly and help you resolve it. Please contact us by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, or you can also chat with us at http://ms.spr.ly/DESocial1, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are central, we will do our best to provide you with a solution and show you how valuable you are to us. Thank you. Be safe! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Terrible customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

When moving and switching appliances, they did not switch my service. There was no communication. I was informed false information and when called out, they refuse to make things right by offering the rate that was told. Plus was hung up on by a representative. Terrible customer service and rude representatives.

N/A from Lebanon, PA on December 27th, 2022
Good afternoon. We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced and we offer you our most sincere apologies. We value your business with Direct Energy and we would love to have the opportunity to talk to you and further investigate this matter, so we find the best solution together. We invite you to please get in contact with us by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, or you can also chat with us at http://ms.spr.ly/DESocial1, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are central, we will do our best to solve your concern and assist you the way you deserve. Thank you for the feedback. Happy Holidays! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Terrible customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have had direct energy for years and every time it came time for a renewal rate was more than a new customer. No loyalty whatsoever towards the customer. This last episode was the last straw. I am one year into a 36 month contract and am moving. Since I will get a new account number because it is a new build direct energy has told me I would have to enroll again as a new customer and they would not transfer my current rate.terrible the way they treat existing customers.I will never use them again nor would I recommend them to anyone

Richard Thomas from Harrisburg, PA on September 8th, 2022
Hello Richard. We offer you our sincerest for the inconvenience you have experienced regarding your new service address and your current rate. We highly value your business with Direct Energy and would love the opportunity to speak with you and determine the options available to you, please don't hesitate to get in contact with us by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, or you can also chat with us at http://ms.spr.ly/DESocial1, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are central, we will work diligently to find the best solution to your case. Thank you for the feedback. Have a wonderful weekend! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Terrible customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have had direct energy for years and every time it came time for a renewal rate was more than a new customer. No loyalty whatsoever towards the customer. This last episode was the last straw. I am one year into a 36 month contract and am moving. Since I will get a new account number because it is a new build direct energy has told me I would have to enroll again as a new customer and they would not transfer my current rate.terrible the way they treat existing customers.I will never use them again nor would I recommend them to anyone

Richard Thomas from Harrisburg, PA on September 8th, 2022
Hello Richard. We offer you our sincerest for the inconvenience you have experienced regarding your new service address and your current rate. We highly value your business with Direct Energy and would love the opportunity to speak with you and determine the options available to you, please don't hesitate to get in contact with us by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, or you can also chat with us at http://ms.spr.ly/DESocial1, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are central, we will work diligently to find the best solution to your case. Thank you for the feedback. Have a wonderful weekend! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Harassing, unsolicited phone calls
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been receiving several unsolicited phone calls from this company (sometimes as many as 4 times a day) I have repeatedly asked to have my number removed from their call list and told them that I am on the do not call list. Still every day I get calls from a very arrogant young man with a heavy accent (middle eastern) who is quite rude. Today when I once again got a call, I asked for the name of the company he works for so that I could report these calls he very arrogantly said "go ahead, go ahead" . I am so tired of these obnoxious callers that I feel the need to speak out. The number they always call from is from Havertown, PA 610-860-0734. (I would not be surprised to learn that the number is cloned.) I can guarantee you that I will never change any of my accounts to Direct Energy!

Fran from Bethlehem, PA on August 23rd, 2022
Good afternoon, Fran. We are so sorry for any frustrations these telephone calls may have caused you or your family. Our team would like the chance to help end these unwanted calls. Please do not hesitate to get in contact with us by phone toll-free at 1-888-305-3828, or you can also chat with us at http://ms.spr.ly/DESocial1, for your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m, so we can help you register the telephone number or numbers you would like to have added to our internal Do Not Call list to proceed forward. We also recommend to add your information in the National Do Not Call Registry, it can be through their website www.DoNotCall.gov or you can call them at 1-888-382-1222. Once again we are deeply sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Thank you for the feedback. Warm regards! - Marta / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Thieves - DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was unfortunately a Direct Energy customer for years. My wife pays the bills and wasn't really paying attention to the amount on the electric bill. One day I opened the bill and was shocked. So I researched the kw/hr price I was being charged by Direct Energy with what the typical price was. WOW.



Direct Energy was happily charging me over DOUBLE their current price. Basically, they were stealing from me. Companies need to make money. I get it. But Direct Energy's behavior is unethical and should be illegal. No phone call, no email. Zero effort was made to help a long-time customer to not be price gouged.

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.

If they offered me a rate at half of everyone else, I still wouldn't use them.

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.

Dave T In PA from Elverson, PA on June 19th, 2020
Hi Dave, we regret to learn you are disappointed with your rate. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you and find the best plan that can suit to fit your energy needs.

If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact us at 1-888-305-3828, Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. CST and Saturday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. CST, or engage with our Live Chat agent from www.directenergy.com It will be a pleasure to help you, and we look forward to hearing from you! - Emma / Digital Care
— Direct Energy
Overall Rating
Rip off
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They were fine until the contract was up. Decided not to renew when I realized customer service was in South America. When I got my last bill with them they put the energy charge way up. It increase about one third.

Cynthia Adams from Harrisburg, PA on February 3rd, 2020
Hi Cynthia. We can understand your concern with the final invoice that was priced based on a non-contract rate. Our system will automatically transition accounts that have expired contracts to non-contract pricing to ensure there is no interruption of service. Under our variable rate pricing, the rate we set each month is based on the company evaluation of market conditions. Market conditions the company may consider include: the prevailing price of electricity on the market, costs involved in moving the electricity from the producer to the utility, our total acquisition costs for the electricity, and the prevailing rates offered by the utility and other competitors. If you have any questions or concerns regarding your closed DE account, please do not hesitate to reach out to us through Social Media https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/ or Live Chat https://www.directenergy.com/. We hope you have a great day and stay safe out there. - Eleanor / Digital Care
— Direct Energy

Compare Direct Energy to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
MRC
The 'MRC' or 'Monthly Recurring Charge' is a fee that the provider will add to each of your bills in addition to the electricity/gas usage charges.
Type
Clean Energy Plan
8.29¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Variable Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Term Optimized Live Brighter 9
7.69¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Live Brighter 18
8.29¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Live Brighter 12
7.99¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Go Green Lights 24
10.19¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Embrace Green 24
9.49¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Embrace Green 12
9.49¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability