Charge/Fee Reviews


Problems with Fees and Charges (623 reviews)



Over charge you and refuse to cancel your service

(1 / 5)

  Straight up scam. Bill was double what they quoted me and they continue to bill me after my contact expired and charge rediclulous "cancellation fees" to users that try and leave after their contact finished.

Sam
May 30th, 2018

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271 so we can be sure to solve this issue.

Responds September 12th, 2018


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Watch your first bill.... your renewal options.. and your last bill - when you leave them!

(1 / 5)

  1. As seems to be a common experience in other reviews you'll read; it seems to be standard practice for them to make a 'mistake' on your first bill regarding the calculation method. In my case; the first bill was more than 2.5 times higher than it should have been - and I had to call them to walk them through how THEY should calculate it. (after multiple attempts to get them on the phone - like others).
After this; they apologized - but 'couldn't' refund the money; but were happy to give it as a 'credit' to future bills. (that carried me past the next bill and half of the following one.. having 'paid in advance'.)
Several weeks later, they sent me an email saying 'whoops! We've discovered me made an error on your last bill!' - to which I HAD to reply to thank them for the newsflash - but remind them that it was ME who found the errors and had to correct them on it!
2. Each month, they'd send an email reminding me when my bill was due. This was nice.
One month - inexplicably, they didn't. I suddenly realized one day that I hadn't seen their bill (was only getting online bills); created an account to login to see it and paid right away - in what turned out to be 2 days past the due date. About a week later; I received a disconnection warning that had been sent that very same day! ..they for some reason didn't send me my bill; and 2 days after the due date - without contacting me, sent a nasty warning and disconnect threat?!
3. When renewal time came, they sent a message in the mail advising it was coming up and gave a PLATINUM CODE for me to call with and quote during renewal options. Having already looked online; I saw all the options available would cost me about 2x as much per month as I had been paying. ..Called them up with the 'special code' and was told the code didn't do anything! So much for fostering/rewarding customer loyalty.
4. Ultimately; I found a much better rate from another provider and made a switch. Immediately afterward, I received my final bill - including fees for the final, additional week I was with them after the billing period. (*funny how those billing periods end up always NOT being on your renewal time, but a week or two before!). The fee for the 1 week of service past the last billing period was the full 'Tier 1 Energy Fee' they would have charged me for a months' worth of usage in that range. I mailed them to ask if they really were going to invoice that for 1 week and they sent me back the original EFL saying 'it says so here for that usage'! :)
I replied to tell them that it was rather ironic that they wouldn't extend the program I had been on (as despite other issues, I would have remained with them on that plan); but yet as soon as I switched providers - they were quick to invoke the terms FROM it for the 'out of coverage' period!
Good riddance - and I hope that in this buyer's market others catch on and read these honest reviews to save themselves the same troubles. ...don't expect this company to be around in another year or two...

Once bitten..
May 23rd, 2018



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

National Gas & Electric

(1 / 5)

  This company's caller claimed to be "a ComEd supplier", which is false per ComEd. And they are not the best rate, either. For any competitor, not just this one, find out what all the startup/cancellation/etc fees will cost you in the end, just to get an artificially low and temporary rate. When I identified myself for the second time as a person taking a message for my mother, who is the homeowner, this vendor hung up on me. And that's how I know the caller ID number is no good. Tried it three different times.

cr
May 16th, 2018



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Wow - Horrid Pricing

(1 / 5)

  I received a call from a telemarketer. The offer for a ComEd account was 7.99 cents per kWh for three months. A 30% savings was claimed (which is a lie). Plus a "discounted" rate of just $5.89 customer charge per month. These rates are very high and from reading what other victims wrote on this site, the rates are then greatly increased after the initial "teaser" rate.

The telephone offer (7.99 cents) was more than 15% higher than competitors per kWh plus an extra monthly (made up "customer fee") of $5.00.

A quick check of competitive pricing, from multiple suppliers, at UtilityDiscount.com revealed a low 6 month fully fixed rate of 6.89 cents for six months and 7.49 cents for twelve months and no extra monthly customer charge. Shop and compare before you sign a contract. Lastly, NEVER PAY a miscellaneous "CUSTOMER CHARGE"

Only consider suppliers who offer a fully fixed, per kWh, product and then compare with your current charges on your electric bill. If the price offered is less, then switch. https://utilitydiscount.com is a good source for current prices. I knew better than to sign up, but clearly the get customers.

A Knowledgeable Consumer
April 26th, 2018



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay Away!

(1 / 5)

  STAY AWAY!
If you are considering Frontier Utilities I would highly discourage it. I am only giving one star because 0 wasn't a possibility. I recently started my service, less than a month in I received a notice of cancellation prior to ever having been sent a bill. I paid it the day it was received and apparently incurred late fees as a result. The next month my bill went from 40$ to 140$ which came as a surprise being as I was out of the country for 2 weeks within that month. I made several attempts to sign in to the online portal to see what was going on with my account, however the site wouldn't recognize my email even though I was receiving weekly email updates of my usage (which came out to around 200 kwh). I tried the forgot password link as well as the register as new, both came back with errors. I then tried looking at the website to see my plan details and somehow now that won't even work. I have the original email from when I signed up and it wasn't anywhere near the rate I'm receiving. I called customer care and the girl couldn't give me any explanation after over an hour on the phone. I called again the next day and spent a half hour on the phone just to be told I couldn't speak to a supervisor that I would be transferred to retention. After waiting on hold another 20 minutes I was hung up on. So my only option now is pay through automated system by phone with no explanation as to why. This company is a sham don't waste your time or money. They did not provide the service I signed up for and their systems don't function as advertised. I am canceling my service and they will not receive another dime from me.

dg
April 4th, 2018



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip off

(1 / 5)

  Customer service is terrible. Hidden fees and not willing to work with changing contract due to hidden fees

Villarreal
March 12th, 2018

We believe that sharing reviews publicly provides helpful insides to making the right decision when choosing an electric provider. In case of a negative review like yours, publishing a review with the name that is associated with your account will help us to provide a fast response from our team. We are very committed to resolving any of our customers concerns or issues that cause a poor customer experience with Frontier Utilities. Since we are not able to reach you, please feel free to contact us at 866-926-8192 or if you would like someone from Frontier to contact you directly, please respond to this message with your contact information. Please refer to Cyla when you call us. Thank you for your feedback

Responds March 14th, 2018


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SICK SICK SICK COMPANY

(1 / 5)

  This is an absolutely sick sick sick energy company. They do not read your meter for energy consumption, what they do is they average what they think you're going to use based on average consumption around your neighborhood and apply the fictititous energy costs to you, Do not i repeat do not fall for whatever ridiculous teaser rates they have. They have ridiculous charges to make up for it. I understand energy companies are all about the fine print, but with just energy it is beyond ridiculous. My energy usage apparently quadrupled in months in which i was never at home. My january 2017 bill read about 1.5KWH, a time in which i was always at home because i had lost work. This year my january and february elec bill read almost 3KWH, and I am never at home 6 out of the 7days of the week. Thats why I say they do not read meters. This is an abhorrent company and I would not recommend it to my worst enemy. They are absolutely disgusting

PETE FROM ARLINGTON
March 3rd, 2018



Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions